Broiled Lobster Tails Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This was a wonderful way to cook lobster tails. I used to always boil them, but they would curl all up and didn't taste as good. With broiling them, you have more control over cooking them so they don't get over or under cooked and they stay flat. Next time though, I need to season them more. Thanks for a great method of cooking lobster tails! Also, I wanted to add that if the top of the shell is already cut open, it's best to cook the lobster in the shell instead of pulling it out because the shell helps protect it from burning or drying out. Also, like another reviewer, I only used about half of the butter on them before cooking and saved the rest for dipping. Be careful when opening the oven door because the butter smokes up really bad and it will burn your eyes. I like the idea other reviewers had about using old bay seasoning instead of paprika because I think it would give it an even better flavor that way. I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1542 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Made these for New Year's Eve - what a treat!! I split the meat about half way through and used a skewer inserted just under the tail and run the whole length to keep them from "curling". Then, I spread the shell so that it was "open". I broiled them one up from the bottom rack to prevent burning with two one pound tails, and left he door open to watch them intently! I drizzled with garlic butter several times during the cooking process, as well as putting about a half cup of water in the bottom of the broiling pan (to help keep them moist - the water becomes steam during cooking). Keep in mind that frozen lobster tails WILL BE tougher than fresh - no matter what you do, so take great care cooking, or you will loose flavor and the lobster will be "rubbery". All that said, cooking time took longer than some folks for 1 pound tails, about 30 minutes, but well worth it!! The flavor was fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Ingredients are clear, but totally dependent on the size of the tails which isn't mentioned. I prefer to use 3/4 to 1 lb. tails. I split the shell only, not the meat. Separate the meat under the shell with a spoon and carefully push the meat up through the split, resting it on top of the shell, without disconnecting it from the tip of the tail. Broil no closer than the middle rack. A 1 pounder takes about 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fishnmagician

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I have used this recipe a couple of times. I modified it by adding the salt, pepper and a little white cooking wine (1/4 cup? I didn't measure) to the melted butter. Using a basting brush, I basted the lobster meat with about half of the butter/wine mixture before broiling. I bought my lobster tails at Costco and they were fairly large. They required more than 10 minutes of broiling. I found that keeping them in the shell while cooking, keeps them from burning and drying out. Prior to serving, I pull the meat out of the shell and lay it on top of the shell (partially attached at the small end) for a better presentation and serve with the remainder of the butter/wine mixture for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
440 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Sometimes the most simple recipes are the most delicious. This was wonderful. I didn't use near as much butter as called for, but used the extra for dipping. I broiled my 6-7oz lobster tail for 7 minutes and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Simple and delicious. I split the shell down the middle with kitchen shears and pulled the shell halves apart to expose the meat, but still leaving it inside the shell. I used the 2nd rack from the top and broiled for about 10-11 minutes and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Since we very rarely eat lobster, it was difficult to determine level of doneness. The tails had been frozen, but thawed two days in fridge plus a few hours on the counter. Tasted great, but only after 12 minutes broiling. 15 minutes would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Hubby made these for me & they were fantastic! He used Old Bay instead of paprika & salt & he added just a hint of fresh rosemary... along w/ some fresh chopped lemon balm. He added lots of fresh minced garlic to the butter cooked on the lobster & went easy on the garlic in the butter used for dipping. I think he outdid himself this time...thanks! We served these w/ leftover zuchinni batons (from foodnetwork) & artisan bread that we dipped in the butter as well ... Lemon Syllabub (from this site) made a fine dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
First time I ever prepared a lobster tail. Great recipe - my husband loved it. I used a small pan with about a cup of water on the bottom for steam. It only took 10 min. to cook 1/2 pound tail. Will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2002
The time needed to cook lobster tails is way too dependent on their thickness. The garlic, etc., burned long before the thick tails I was cooking finished cooking through, even though I had them on the middle rack in the oven. Then, once everything finally did finish cooking, they were dry and tough. Boiling and steaming work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Lobster Tails

This elegant dish is perfect for any special occasion.

How to Broil Lobster Tails

See the simple, less messy way to cook lobster.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States