Broiled Herb Butter Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I followed the recipe as written, but it didn't turn out as well as I'd hoped. The chicken was bland and a bit dry on the edges. I also didn't care for the butter flavor, but I usually use olive oil. Broiling caused a lot of smoke, and the end result wasn't worth the trouble. This is a good recipe to tweak, though, so the next time I made it, I replace the butter with olive oil and mixed it with double the amount of garlic cloves (crushed). I then pounded the breasts to a uniform thickness and marinated them in the oil and garlic mixture for 30 minutes at room temp. I then used fresh herbs but doubled the amount except for the rosemary (used recipes's original amount as I'm not a big fan of rosemary) and added that to the chicken marinade and mixed well. I wrapped the chicken in aluminum foil and baked at 350 for 20 minutes, then opened the foil and broiled on high (my oven doesn't have broil temps, just high or low) with chicken on top rack to add some color. I then squeezed fresh lemon juice over the chicken just before serving. With my changes, I would give this five stars. The chicken was VERY juicy, and almost fall-apart tender. The lemon juice "brightens" the flavor. Garlic is a great tenderizer, and the marinating really gives it time to work, resulting in juicier, more tender chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
299 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was really wonderful! I used it on a whole chicken that I roasted. I placed some of the butter under the skin of the chicken breasts and spread the rest on the exterior of the chicken. It turned out very flavorful and juicy, and the garlic flavor was delicious, mellow and sweet. Thank you for the recipe, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very delicious! Although I found it called for more butter then necessary resulting in a grease fire in the pan. This added a nice flavour and the peices that had the fire close turned out the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazdyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I've made this chicken a few times for my family and friends. It is wonderful. I tend to make it over a bed of steamed jasmine rice with french cut green beans. I'm asked to make this dish for dinner constantly and is a favorite in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callie Harding

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This didn't come out quite as juicy as expected. Maybe my oven broiler is off and I can blame that. It seemed kind of bland too. I might try it with more herbs and baked instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess2334

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I read the other reviews and altered the recipe which seemed to work well. To lower calories but save flavor I mixed 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 melted butter instead of all butter. I also warmed the garlic in the mixture so it infused it. I baked wrapped in foil for 30 min. at 350 and then broiled for 7 minutes for color. It turned out quite well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I really enjoyed this chicken. However, I did make a few adjustments. First of all I didn't use any butter to make it healthier. I used 1/2 cup of e-virgin olive oil instead. I added about 1/8 cup of balsamic to the oil mixture along with 1 tsp of onion powder. I George Forman'd the chicken for about 5 minutes turning once. It was excellent. My boyfriend ate 2 big peices of this chicken. I served alongside freshly steamed green beans. Will definitely make this one again!!!! Oh and next time I will let it marinate for about 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. I add a bit of salt and pepper to each side of the chicken breast for a bit more flavor. One word of caution.....butter will catch on fire in the oven if you are broiling so BE CAREFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I enjoyed but it wasn't something I would do over and over like other recioes I have
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kyjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This is super easy to whip up while making dinner to freeze for lunches for the week. It smells awesome, and the only alterations I make is I add some kosher salt and onion powder and minced onions to the butter baste. I also make a few slits into the chicken to make the baste soak in better and it turns out great and super juicy every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States