Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
I just cut the grapefruit in half and put the toppings on (that is what the original recipe calls for) because I find it easier to scoop out the flesh when it is warm and softer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Simple and delicious! I usually just eat these things cold with a bit of Splenda, but this was really nice change. I just cut the grapefruit in half, cut it into sections and loosed it - didn't bother with anything else. I used Land O Lakes light butter and added a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Again, my laziness prevails and I just loosen the sections with a knife but don't bother to remove the sections and all that. I also skipped the butter - although Smart Balance or other non-hydrogenated spreads will work. I just didn't feel that butter and grapefruit belonged together. I used brown sugar and a little cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves, and that made these smell and taste wonderful! Reminded me of something served at a nice bed & breakfast in Maine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
A friend gifted us with a box of Texas grapefruit, and I needed to find a way to get my family to eat them all, so searched under "ingredients" for grapefruit. (There's not much!) I sectioned the grapefruit and left them in the skins. 3 minutes under the broiler was not enough to heat the grapefruit through, so the top was warm and the bottom was cold. I would leave in the broiler a little longer next time. Got rid of some grapefruit, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
I enjoyed this at work today. I used a combination of 2tsp brown surgar and 1/2tsp white surgar and sprinkled with cinnamon and dotted with butter per half of grapefruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCD0205

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Had this for New Years morning, with a sweet bread from our favorite bakery and a slice of egg casserole. So pretty! I used honey instead of white sugar, and totally forgot the butter - didn't miss it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne in Minnesota

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
I just brought back 5 lbs. of fresh pink grapefruit from my parents tree in Florida and decided to try this recipe. I keep my grapefruits at room temperature on my counter. After cutting out the grapefruit I cut another one and removed the fruit and placed in a bowl (1 1/2 grapefruits). Next I took another small bowl and mixed the cinnamon and sugar together then drained the grapefruit (to drink) and ladled into ONE shell. I was intrigued by the addition of the butter so I decided to try adding it. The most time consuming part was tearing out the inside of the fruit so I used kitchen shears to make it easier and faster. If I were to make it again I would cut down on the cinnamon. Frankly, it's just easier (and less time consuming) to cut and half sprinkle with sugar or slenda and cut the sections and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
i thought this recipe was a great interesting way to eat grapefruit. really interesting tastes, and it was really quick and easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
I did what I always do to 'prepare' grapefruit - slice the sections and around the edge, without actually removing the fruit. I also used Smart Balance and Splenda, as my diet has been horrible this week. This was very light and refreshing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is delicious. I've never had a warm grapefruit before nor have I thought to put cinnamon on. Usually I just cut it in half and sprinle a little sugar on and that's it. Warming it makes it so much more juicy. I don't think you need to scoop everything out unless serving to a child that may not be a able to get all the little segments out with a spoon. I just cut around the segments and left it at that. I will certainly make this again. I really enjoyed the cinnamon on this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Elegant stuffed French toast is served with a delectable peach sauce.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States