Broiled Grapefruit Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Simple and delicious! I love apple crisp so why not a grapfruit crisp? Well, I wasn't disappointed. I usually just eat these things cold with a bit of Splenda, but this was really nice change. I used light butter and added a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon. As with anything you but in a broiler you have to watch it carefully so it doesn't burn. Everyone's oven is differnent, so use the 10 minutes as a guide - it may take less time than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
What a simple and delicious way to dress up a grapefruit. I never would have thought to do this. Thanks for a great tasting idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Oh my goodness! Like others, I was not sure I'd like warm grapefruit, but it is GREAT! If you are in doubt, try it. I have eat it every morning for over a week now - even some evenings. Can't get enough of it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I loved this, and my husband finished his serving and said it was "pretty good for a grapefruit" which is VERY high praise from him. For me the recipe as written made twice as much topping as I strictly need as I didn't want to put so much on there that it would fall off. 4 minutes on Lo on my broiler burnt it just the tiniest bit so in the future I'd probably just bake it at 450 for 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe, we'll be using this one all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I added cardamon spice and a little orange zest Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is wonderful! However, if you like your grapefruit cold, like I do, make this an hour or two ahead and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yum! I didn't have any brown sugar so I just used regular sugar also I added some ground clove. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I was skeptical of this because I am not much for warm fruit. I couldn't stop thinking about this though once I read the recipe because I was curious as to how it tasted. Ingredient wise - I did not change a thing. I did follow others reviews and baked at 350 for 10 minutes. Final product: I LOVED it! This a great breakfast that can be made quickly. I saved 1/2 the grapefruit and oatmeal mixture for tomorrow's breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
All righty then. This is great, but for all of you BURNING the grapefruit, try this. Put it in the microwave oven. It works ever soo well, and in under 2 minutes. The crispness is STILL there. I do it this way in the Summer, soo as not to have to turn on the Broiler, as well, I do it this way for a dessert as well. Cheers NV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Tasty! Broiling mine for about 3 minutes was enough for me... The top was almost burnt, but the grapefruit was still cold in some spots. Next time I will try the baking method so that the grapefruit has enough time to get heated up without burning the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States