Broiled Grapefruit Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I only made one substitution--I used Splenda brown sugar blend instead of regular brown sugar. Holy frijoles, this is brilliant. The best breakfast I've had in a LONG time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Simple and delicious! I love apple crisp so why not a grapfruit crisp? Well, I wasn't disappointed. I usually just eat these things cold with a bit of Splenda, but this was really nice change. I used light butter and added a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon. As with anything you but in a broiler you have to watch it carefully so it doesn't burn. Everyone's oven is differnent, so use the 10 minutes as a guide - it may take less time than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
All righty then. This is great, but for all of you BURNING the grapefruit, try this. Put it in the microwave oven. It works ever soo well, and in under 2 minutes. The crispness is STILL there. I do it this way in the Summer, soo as not to have to turn on the Broiler, as well, I do it this way for a dessert as well. Cheers NV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I was skeptical of this because I am not much for warm fruit. I couldn't stop thinking about this though once I read the recipe because I was curious as to how it tasted. Ingredient wise - I did not change a thing. I did follow others reviews and baked at 350 for 10 minutes. Final product: I LOVED it! This a great breakfast that can be made quickly. I saved 1/2 the grapefruit and oatmeal mixture for tomorrow's breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
I enjoyed this, even though I do not like grapefruit! If you are making for only one person, you can easily refrigerate half the grapefruit and half the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjm10
Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I tried this on a whim this morning, as I like oats and cinnamon, and I adore grapefruit. I made it exactly how the recipe called for (except I omitted the salt), but only one half. Broiling it burnt the out of the topping, so I took out the rest of the topping and the second half and tried it again, baking it at 350 for 10 minutes. Came out nicely that time. It's interesting, but I don't think I'd make it again. Something about the sweetness of the topping and the tartness of the fruit don't really go together all that well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is a nice change from the ususal grapefruit for breakfast. It's so yummy and tastes just like a crisp! I have a very hot oven so when I broiled it, it burnt the top in no time so I tried just baking it at 350 and worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is very tasty and juicy! I used other peoples suggestions and backed at 350 fomr 10 min and quickly broiled it for about 3 min. It came out perfect. This is my new favorite breakfast :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
What a simple and delicious way to dress up a grapefruit. I never would have thought to do this. Thanks for a great tasting idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States