Broiled Grapefruit Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Oh my goodness! Like others, I was not sure I'd like warm grapefruit, but it is GREAT! If you are in doubt, try it. I have eat it every morning for over a week now - even some evenings. Can't get enough of it. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
really quick easy and good. I've had this with just brown sugar before, the oat addition is great. As with any food under the broiler, just keep your eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Tasty! Broiling mine for about 3 minutes was enough for me... The top was almost burnt, but the grapefruit was still cold in some spots. Next time I will try the baking method so that the grapefruit has enough time to get heated up without burning the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is wonderful! However, if you like your grapefruit cold, like I do, make this an hour or two ahead and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Simple and delicious! I love apple crisp so why not a grapfruit crisp? Well, I wasn't disappointed. I usually just eat these things cold with a bit of Splenda, but this was really nice change. I used light butter and added a little nutmeg along with the cinnamon. As with anything you but in a broiler you have to watch it carefully so it doesn't burn. Everyone's oven is differnent, so use the 10 minutes as a guide - it may take less time than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
All righty then. This is great, but for all of you BURNING the grapefruit, try this. Put it in the microwave oven. It works ever soo well, and in under 2 minutes. The crispness is STILL there. I do it this way in the Summer, soo as not to have to turn on the Broiler, as well, I do it this way for a dessert as well. Cheers NV
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I tried this on a whim this morning, as I like oats and cinnamon, and I adore grapefruit. I made it exactly how the recipe called for (except I omitted the salt), but only one half. Broiling it burnt the out of the topping, so I took out the rest of the topping and the second half and tried it again, baking it at 350 for 10 minutes. Came out nicely that time. It's interesting, but I don't think I'd make it again. Something about the sweetness of the topping and the tartness of the fruit don't really go together all that well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
What a simple and delicious way to dress up a grapefruit. I never would have thought to do this. Thanks for a great tasting idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I was skeptical of this because I am not much for warm fruit. I couldn't stop thinking about this though once I read the recipe because I was curious as to how it tasted. Ingredient wise - I did not change a thing. I did follow others reviews and baked at 350 for 10 minutes. Final product: I LOVED it! This a great breakfast that can be made quickly. I saved 1/2 the grapefruit and oatmeal mixture for tomorrow's breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Very Good! Quick and easy. I don't see how you can broil for 10 minutes. I used another's suggestion and lowered the temperature, but still cooked it for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States