Broiled Grapefruit Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I was REALLY hoping this would turn out well. I made it twice and both times it burnt. The first time I followed the recipe exactly, putting it 6 inches from the heat source. It not only burned, but it was on fire within 2 minutes of being in the oven. The grapefruit wasn't even warm and the oats were in flames. The second time I put the rack down further and it still burned within 2 minutes, though it wasn't on fire. I finally just put it in the microwave to warm it up and ate it since it was slightly less burnt than the first time. The oats were delicious, but I'm not sure how to get that crunchy-ness without burning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cjc0618
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I cut back on the butter and make the moisture ahead of time. When I'm in a hurry, I just cut the grapefruit, put on the topping and broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I don't love grapefruit, but we got several in our Bountiful Basket last week, so I needed some way to use them. This was pretty good. And with only 160 calories per serving, this recipe is good for my diet. I did microwave the grapefruit for 2 minutes, rather than broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Nice way to dress up Easter brunch but the topping was just so-so for all the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
We just tried this....only thing we did not have the oats so we just left them out...This was really good...can;t wait to try it with the oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This recipe reminded me I had left over crumble topping in the fridge, this worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
I only made one substitution--I used Splenda brown sugar blend instead of regular brown sugar. Holy frijoles, this is brilliant. The best breakfast I've had in a LONG time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
My family didn't enjoy this recipe. It isn't terrible, but we prefer plain grapefruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Super simple yet super delicious... I never would have thought of this... the oven I used however burnt the granola topping right away so I turned the oven on to 350 to finish cooking... next time I think I will cook at 350 for 10-15 minutes and then brown it with the broiler if needed... the microwave method for 2 minutes also seemed to do the trick... actually seemed to heat the fruit more thoroughly... however I don't think the granola was quite as good.... either way very simple and unique recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I happened to stumble across this recipe while eating a grapefruit that I had already peeled. I decided to just mix everything up in a bowl and broil it. It was such a nice treat! I did use my homemade pumpkin pie spice for the cinnamon & skipped the salt. Eyeballed most of the ingredients since I only had about 1/2 of the grapefruit left. My oven has a low broil setting so I used that for about 4 minutes. It probably could have gone longer, but I was hungry. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States