Broiled Chicken with Roasted Garlic Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
As written, I think it would need a little bit more zing to make it sing. I had to make some changes based on ingredients on hand and w/that it was one of the best dishes I have ever prepared. I only hope I can remember what I did for next time. **It takes longer than 20 minutes to roast garlic to make it golden brown. I have a garlic roaster and it took double time. Only had legs so threw those in oven w/the white wine and s/p, Old Bay. Covered and baked while the garlic was roasting. Doubled the amt. of cheese and shredded both parm. and romano. Sauteed onions in 1 tbsp. butter, 1tbsp. olive oil and added a couple of chopped romas, tsp fine herbs, and in lieu of 1 cup milk, used the wine from the chicken w/milk to make 1 cup. Wine I used was sweet so it made the sauce too sweet so squeezed half a lemon and about 1/2 cup sour cream. Made a flour slurry using some of the hot wine liquid and added to mixture to thicken. The house smells wonderful and I wish it were not so fattening because I could eat the whole thing. Serving over linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
After reading all of the reviews, I decided that I'd have to do something to add some flavor to this dish. So, I cut up the chicken into bite size pieces, and marinated in white cooking wine and a little soy sauce, along with some salt and pepper. After about 20 minutes, I added a few tablespoons of flour to the chicken pieces, and mixed it up. I then sauteed the chicken pieces on a high heat until cooked. Next, I sauteed some green onions and matsutake mushrooms in a separate pan with a tbsp. of olive oil, and a tbsp. of butter, then added the tbsp. of flour, a dash or two of salt, 1/2 cup of skim milk, a 1/2 cup of half and half, and the roasted garlic cloves. Before the sauce came to a boil, it was thickened just right - be sure to make the sauce on a really low heat, so that it does not come to a boil, otherwise it will turn out too thick. Lastly, I spooned the sauce mixture over the chicken, and it was ready to eat. In the end, I think it turned out pretty good, a little time consuming, so not something I'll make on a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
First off I will say that that method of cooking chicken is fabulous. It came out so tender you could barely tell that you were eating a piece of chicken. I changed up the sauce quite a bit. I suspected that it would be bland even with the garlic, so I sauteed 2 shallots and some crimini mushrooms in butter and set it aside just in case. When I made the sauce, I added the flour before the milk in order to make a roux so the flour wouldn't be chunky. Then I used 1/2 cup half-and-half and 1/2 cup nonfat milk. I also used the whole head of garlic. The sauce was still incredibly bland. I added more parmesan, threw in some pecorino romano cheese, the shallot/mushroom mixture, and some salt and pepper. I also added a little bit of the wine from the cooked chicken. It came out pretty good. I'd make it again, but probably only once every few months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
Well, nobody else has mentioned this problem, so I guess I did something wrong: I could not get the flour to blend into the milk and butter. It started off as big thick lumps, and though I stirred and stirred, it made the sauce grainy. I should have followed my instincts and made a roux, then added the milk bit by bit. The end result was ok but nothing outstanding - I added more cheese because it was rather bland - and certainly not worth the unexpected effort. I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway. (PS, I roasted my garlic for just under an hour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This was delicious! I made quite a few changes, though... to start, I did not broil the chicken in white wine... I was afraid that the alcohol would dry the chicken out by itself, so I just whisked some onion powder, oregano, italian seasoning, parsley and some lemon juice into olice oil and generously brushed the chicken breasts before putting them in the oven. I turned them over once during cooktime and broiled for about 22 minutes. I made the sauce by first making a roux... I know that the recipe called for something different, but I hate the taste of uncooked flour in a sauce. Once the flour was a little browned, I slowly added the milk, whisking constantly. I threw in double the cheese, and I used shredded rather than grated. Once the cheese was melted, I added the garlic. I roasted two small heads of garlic... it was perfect! When well combined, I added a touch of salt, some fresh parsley and a TON of black pepper (I love lots of cracked black pepper in a white sauce!!). I served it over some whole grain mix (brown rice, bulgur and cracked red wheat) and it really was a DELICIOUS meal! My house smelled amazing and I could have just eaten the sauce! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
This was an excellent meal. Although, even though it says dont be afraid to use the whole head of garlic, I didnt. I only used about half in the recipe. It had plenty of flavor of garlic, and I love garlic. The whole head may have been to overpowering. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Sauce was excellent, chicken was too dry... will definitely play around with the chicken as the sauce made the meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
Didn't make the chicken recipe, but used the sauce recipe on salmon over rice. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I had to add more spices to make this have flavor. I also sauteed the chicken in 1 tbsp of margerine/1 tbsp Olive Oil in a cast iron skillet till they were brown on both sides. Then removed them and made a cream sauce with the roasted garlic. I used a whole bulb of roasted garlic and I think it still need more for the sauce taste of garlic. I would probably use fresh garlic next time instead of roasting it. I also added onions, dryed basil and a pinch of cayanne. After the sauce was made, I put the chicken back in the cast iron skillet covered it with foil and baked on low for about 20 minutes. Then put it on rice. it was okay, nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Hello...this was delicious! I actually only made the sauce and put it in a baked pasta dish. I was looking for something very garlic based because we LOVE garlic! I had to make changes based on what I had and because we are a gluten free family. I can't wait to make this again and neither can my husband! Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!! Changes: 2 heads of garlic & roasted it for 40 minutes, 1/4 cup of Parm cheese and 1/4 cup Asiago cheese , (we love our cheese too), rice flour & stirred in some sauteed peppers and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

This delicious dish is ready in less than 30 minutes.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Garlic Chicken Fried Chicken

See how to make garlicky chicken breasts cooked chicken fried steak-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States