Brocomole Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
If you make this recipe exactly as written you get the most bland, boring fake guacamole you have ever eaten. I added so much more cumin, cayenne, garlic and tomato to make it palatable. If you can overlook the smell (cooked broccoli is very pungent), I was able to enjoy the dip with chips. My boyfriend literally wouldn't touch it--so I doubt this will ever be made again in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by blfm94
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
This was a nice recipe, but I agree with other reviewers who thought a bit more flavour was needed. I added a fresh clove of garlic (minced) & a little more lemon juice. A very fresh, zesty and not too broccoli-like flavour. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blfm94

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Loved this.. only had fat free sour cream so I used that. Don't know if I would mistake it for guac but it was very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Made this for a change of pace. It is really very good. It would be difficult to tell it wasn't avocado's if you didn't know it was made with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This recipe turned out tasty, but not as much reminiscent of guacamole as I was expecting. However, I modified it, which may account for the difference in taste, which was unique, but pleasant. I used nonfat, plain yogurt in place of the sour cream and mayonnaise, and I added lime juice, extra chili powder and onion, some garlic salt, and cumin. It is slightly spicy, and it's refreshing, as a dip with wheat crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYCAT1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Meadows, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belle Mead, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
My husband just could not believe this was broccoli. I used lime juice instead of lemon because that is what I had. I also added one jalapeno pepper because we like spicy things otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
I personally liked this recipe. I added some fresh ground cumin or cuminos to the recipe, though. I will probably make this again while on the low-fat diet. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
Just got home from friend's party to which I took this appetizer and it was one of the hits of the party!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I found that adding in about 2 Tbsp. FF or 1/3 less fat cream cheese thickened this recipe up and made it superb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
I read the reviews, but I still wanted to make it because I am looking for healthy recipes. So I (1) added 1 clove minced garlic(if you like garlic add more (2) I used the white part of the green onion for the onion called for in the recipe and then used the green part to sprinkle over the top. It helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke Dip

Learn how to make this simple, creamy artichoke dip.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Pumpkin Fluff Dip

This creamy vanilla-flavored pumpkin dip is super-easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States