Broccoli with Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I enjoyed this, and it was fairly easy to make. I used frozen broccoli because that was what i had. It needs a little more flavor...red pepper flakes, italian seasoning, salt, pepper...whatever! The parmesan really helped. I will make this again because it was liked, just might tweak it a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ophelia693

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good, simple dish. I used beef broth instead of vegetable broth, as well as dried basil instead of fresh. I added some italian seasoning, onion powder, and a bit of fresh lemon juice at the end. It may have been a bit bland for my taste without the additions I made. I sprinkled in some mozzerella on the leftovers and it was a nice touch. Four stars for the recipe as written, and 4.5 with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
Very simple and good. I used more garlic, because we are garlic-lovers. :) This is not a strongly flavored dish, but it's not bland either. Cooking the broccoli in vegetable broth makes it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Very good easy recipe - I only used 2 Tbs of Olive Oil and 1 Tbsp of Light Butter because the other amount just seemed excessive to me and I didn't want to make the meal that fattening. I added 5 cloves of garlic, about a 1/4 cup of onion, and used 1 1/2 cups of chicken broth (i can't find vegetable broth anywhere)i thought it came out very well and so did my husband - ate this with the Amish white bread from this site and the meal was complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I used chicken broth and actually thought you would use more than 1 cup. I thought it could have been more salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I loved this dish! It was a huge hit with my boyfriend, very light and tasty. I added a little bit more EVOO at the end and mixed a parmesan/romano blend of cheeses in with a bit of salt and pepper. I also poached chicken in broth then shredded and added in with the broccoli mixture. Otherwise, no changes! Plus, it got my boyfriend to eat the "little trees" referred to as broccoli. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was a good basic recipe that, after my improv tweakings based on what I had on hand, was fantastic. My changes: I roughly quartered the recipe and cooked the rigatoni in diluted beef broth. I used ~1/2 cup leftover lightly steamed frozen broccoli and supplemented that with half a can of sliced mushrooms, drained. I used margarine instead of butter along with the olive oil and sauteed the mushrooms before adding the garlic (jarred, minced, increased to ~3/4 Tbsp). I added beef broth instead of veggie and dried basil instead of fresh (decreased to ~1/2 Tbsp). Finally, when I added the broccoli, I also put in a splash of lemon juice and a ladle of pasta water/broth. There were no leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was quick, easy, and delicious. I was just looking for a side dish, so I didn't use the pasta. It was very good and had several request the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very quick and easy meal to prepare and clean up! My husband and I both loved it! I added some crushed red pepper for a little extra flavor and skipped the margarine/butter to cut out fat/calories. Also, I added a few tbsp of the starchy water I boiled the pasta in to the simmering broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I thought this was very bland (I even added red pepper flakes, 5 cloves garlic, sunflower seeds, and Italian dressing). I think that lemon zest would have been a good addition. Not sure how I'll fix up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States