Broccoli with Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This recipe was delicious, filling, and quick. I did take the advice of the previous posters and added a bit to the recipe and I do believe that without the extra additions it wouldn't have been as good. Since I try to eat healthy I cut the oil & butter in half (and it was more than enough). I added red pepper flakes to the broccoli and garlic, cooked for about 3 minutes and then added the broth as instructed. After the broccoli was cooked, I added the pasta along with lemon juice, basil, and shredded mozarella. Pretty yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
it was very good as a side dish but i don't think i would use it as a main dish unless i put chicken in with it. I also used a bit more basil then in the recipe required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Very easy and delicious. Perfect for a night when you are too tired to cook. I added frozen peas for even more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I know it sounds like it will be bland, but this was great. Now like pasta salad it gets dry once the pasta sucks up the sauce, but when fresh it was heavenly. I added some butter when reheating and it was good too. I recently served this with crab stuffed mushrooms and a strawberry salad. UPDATE: I made this again last night and has a bunch of bacon I needed to use up. I cooked the bracon and crumbled it into this dish and added a little extra broth while cooking the broccoli. It was awesome and I will added bacon whenver I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Delicious basic dish. My additions were 1 TBL italian spices and 1/4 tsp.red pepper flakes, and only 1 TBL basil. What made it 5 stars for me was sauteing it with mushrooms and cherry tomatoes, then cornstarch to thicken sauce just a bit. This helped with the taste and look which made it a great meal instead of a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Taste great and simple to make, I'm going to do this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Thank you for the great starter idea to season broccoli. Both of my picky eaters loved it! I skipped adding the butter, sauteed the garlic only briefly so it wouldn't become bitter, sauteed the (frozen) broccoli, added 3 cups of water (to cover) and a couple of crushed bouillon cubes (what was on hand), basil, onion powder and piccolini (wagon wheels) since it only takes 7 minutes to cook. Brought it to a boil, covered & simmered for the 7 minutes, served with the Parmesan. Quick, simple, yummy and healthy! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I added red pepper flakes, and used chicken broth in place of the vegetable broth. It turned out delicious! I have tried it the original way and it was quite 'blah'. I make this often with those two small changes, and we really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I just finished cooking this EXACTLY as the recipe stated and like the other reviews said, it is quite bland. I added some creole seasoning on my plate which helped. Also, I cooked up some ground beef and added that to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This was soooo good!! I was so suprized at how wonderful it was. I try to eat really healthy and I am also on a college budget so I made a few modifications: -I used brown rice penne pasta (trader joes) to make it a bit healthier. I cut the serving to two instead of six since I was just making it for myself and my lunch tomorrow. I didnt measure how much pasta but just used aboiut 1/3 of the bag. -I used less butter, about one teaspoon of I cant believe its not butter. -I didnt have fresh basil...actually i did! but i forgot I had it so I just sprinkled some dried basil. -I only had sprinkle parmesen not the good fresh stuff. -The recipe didn't really explain how to cut the broccoli, so i just chopped it up into a size i prefered. -i had it with a small salad on the side. Despite not having all the exact ingredients, it was sooo wonderful. I can't wait to make it for my boyfriend this weekend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States