Broccoli with Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
What a sad disappointment!!! I made this recipe with high expectations...I absolutely LOVE broccoli, and I thought the combination of broccoli and pasta would be a sure hit. Unfortunately, I was so disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter, even added some extra italian spices to give it more flavor, but even that and the fresh basil could not save this pasta. It turned out very bland--only remedied by adding a ton of parmesan cheese on the pasta. I wish this had been better; I have still to find an excellent pasta and broccoli recipe. Although it was easy to make, I unfortunately don't recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Great recipe as I concocted it...Used only oil (quite a bit less) in a non-stick pan to stir-fry chopped frozen broccoli pieces with minced garlic (same time) and-a little bit of-basil. Sprinkled one chicken boullion cube over this and added water before covering to cook. I also added some pasta water from (under)cooking bowties instead of rigatoni and then finished cooking the noodles with the broccoli mixture for a couple of minutes. Served with parm on top for a delicious and fitting side to chicken marsala. Mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amsterdam, New York, USA
Living In: Cobleskill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
One of my favorite dishes, which I've been eating on a weekly basis for years. I also usually make mine with chicken broth ( I use a little more than a cup for a pound of pasta) and just a sprinkle of dried basil. Crushed red pepper flakes are a nice touch as well. Any kind of tubular pasta will do for this dish, even large elbow macaroni. You just want a shape that will hold on to the broth. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was a great side dish! I cut down the olive oil significantly and used chicken broth instead of veggie. I also used dried basil. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I know it sounds like it will be bland, but this was great. Now like pasta salad it gets dry once the pasta sucks up the sauce, but when fresh it was heavenly. I added some butter when reheating and it was good too. I recently served this with crab stuffed mushrooms and a strawberry salad. UPDATE: I made this again last night and has a bunch of bacon I needed to use up. I cooked the bracon and crumbled it into this dish and added a little extra broth while cooking the broccoli. It was awesome and I will added bacon whenver I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Very good, simple dish. I used beef broth instead of vegetable broth, as well as dried basil instead of fresh. I added some italian seasoning, onion powder, and a bit of fresh lemon juice at the end. It may have been a bit bland for my taste without the additions I made. I sprinkled in some mozzerella on the leftovers and it was a nice touch. Four stars for the recipe as written, and 4.5 with my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
So good and easy! I added some sliced fresh button mushrooms I needed to use up and also a pinch of crushed red pepper. I also only had chicken broth so used that. Would be wonderful with some sliced grilled chicken or shrimp tossed in for the meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very quick and easy meal to prepare and clean up! My husband and I both loved it! I added some crushed red pepper for a little extra flavor and skipped the margarine/butter to cut out fat/calories. Also, I added a few tbsp of the starchy water I boiled the pasta in to the simmering broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Very good. I added raw shrimp towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This is ABSOLUTELY a staple in my house now, both kids (2 and 4) love it. My 4 year old requests it all the time and it is the ONLY way he eats broccoli. So tasty, healthy, and most of all--EASY!!--THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States