Broccoli with Rigatoni Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I thought this was pretty good. I used chicken broth and actually thought you would use more than 1 cup. I thought it could have been more salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I loved this dish! It was a huge hit with my boyfriend, very light and tasty. I added a little bit more EVOO at the end and mixed a parmesan/romano blend of cheeses in with a bit of salt and pepper. I also poached chicken in broth then shredded and added in with the broccoli mixture. Otherwise, no changes! Plus, it got my boyfriend to eat the "little trees" referred to as broccoli. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This was a good basic recipe that, after my improv tweakings based on what I had on hand, was fantastic. My changes: I roughly quartered the recipe and cooked the rigatoni in diluted beef broth. I used ~1/2 cup leftover lightly steamed frozen broccoli and supplemented that with half a can of sliced mushrooms, drained. I used margarine instead of butter along with the olive oil and sauteed the mushrooms before adding the garlic (jarred, minced, increased to ~3/4 Tbsp). I added beef broth instead of veggie and dried basil instead of fresh (decreased to ~1/2 Tbsp). Finally, when I added the broccoli, I also put in a splash of lemon juice and a ladle of pasta water/broth. There were no leftovers. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was quick, easy, and delicious. I was just looking for a side dish, so I didn't use the pasta. It was very good and had several request the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATHOMELAUREL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
Very quick and easy meal to prepare and clean up! My husband and I both loved it! I added some crushed red pepper for a little extra flavor and skipped the margarine/butter to cut out fat/calories. Also, I added a few tbsp of the starchy water I boiled the pasta in to the simmering broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
I thought this was very bland (I even added red pepper flakes, 5 cloves garlic, sunflower seeds, and Italian dressing). I think that lemon zest would have been a good addition. Not sure how I'll fix up the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
One of my favorite dishes, which I've been eating on a weekly basis for years. I also usually make mine with chicken broth ( I use a little more than a cup for a pound of pasta) and just a sprinkle of dried basil. Crushed red pepper flakes are a nice touch as well. Any kind of tubular pasta will do for this dish, even large elbow macaroni. You just want a shape that will hold on to the broth. Mangia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I love this recipe and so does my 2 yr old son. The only thing I do differently is I use chicken broth (that's how my mom showed me) and I don't add the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Metta Karuna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Hiawatha, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Very good. I added raw shrimp towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This dish was really good. I did make some changes. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth. I used 6 garlic cloves instead of four and only cooked them briefly before adding the broccoli. I also gave it a couple good shakes of italian seasoning and a couple smaller shakes of cayenne pepper, which added just a little bite. Finally I used an organic sprouted wheat pasta from Trader Joes which gave it a more complex taste. Next time I might add some chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Rigatoni with Duck, Onions, Apple and Red Wine

A simple pasta with duck, apples, and onions in a flavorful red wine reduction.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States