Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This is a good recipe. The broccoli is tasty, but my husband thought there was too little sauce. The cashews tasted great with the sauce. Try toasting the cashews (375 degrees for 8-10 minutes on a cookie sheet) first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
413 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves to Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
We liked this recipe. I did cut back on the butter (used half the recommended) but followed everything else in recipe. I think next time I will saute the garlic in the butter a bit before adding the remaining ingredients for the sauce. Also, I will allow the sauce contents to boil for a couple of minutes to allow the sauce to thicken a bit so that it will stick to the broccoli a bit better. Overall, good recipe...I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
328 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikki Filippone
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I couldn't believe how unbelievably fantastic this recipe turned out to be. My mom and I devoured this in less than 10 minutes. It just had the perfect flavor, the perfect amount of sweet, plus the perfect amount of tang. I asked my mom how she would rate it on a scale from 1 to 5, and her answer was... "from a broccoli lover's perspective... a 10"... and I agree with her 100%! I'm definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Filippone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Just made this for the first time and I will absolutely make it again! I only used about 3 tablespoons of butter insead of the full 5 and didn't seem to miss anything. This was so tasty and goes great with a light fish. I made the sauce and tossed the broccoli in it before serving instead of just pouring it over. We loved it to the last little floret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELKA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This broccoli is sooo good. I made it twice already for a family get together and a party at work and everyone loved it. I had so many people ask for the recipe. The only change I made was adding 1 tbsp of cornstarch to thicken the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was the highlight of the dinner I made tonight. I was surprised when we all ignored our chicken in order to eat more broccoli. I used half broccoli and half sliced onions, which was very good over rice. I think I'll add some more vegetables next time-- bell pepper, celery, maybe carrots or water chestnuts-- and serve it over rice as a vegetarian stir-fry. Thanks so much for the recipe. It's excellent! I used half the amount of butter called for to cut down on the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Yes, yes, yes!!! Incredible hit with my family, including 3 children (11, 12 and 14). They continued to take extra helpings until it was all gone. I added a 1/2 Tbls. cornstarch to the sauce to thicken it. I also simmered the garlic for a bit in the butter first to meld the flavor. Thank you so much! This is a great recipe for any day or special occasion. The cashews make it 'gourmet treat'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Very good! I'm glad I used unsalted cashews as the soya sauce adds plenty of saltiness to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Loved this - what an interesting flavor! This sauce is so delicious the cashews aren't even necessary, but do use them if you can. I wasn't sure I'd like them but I'm glad I gave them a try because they did add character as well as another layer of flavor. Other than cooking the broccoli for a couple of minutes less than recommended, I didn't and wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This is fabulous! I didnt have any cashews, and I used frozen broccoli,but it tasted wonderful. I will use this every time I make broccoli. I will just pretend there is not so much butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States