Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is too funny! I went to my boyfriend's house months ago for dinner and his mom made this. I could have eaten the whole dish! She gave me the recipe, and now months later I stumbled upon the original here! I have made this countless times now, but of course I did some finagling. I've found that if you make the sauce with wayyyyy less butter (half, maybe even less) and let it sit for a little, the butter will separate to the top. You can pour that off, leaving a much thicker (and healthier!) sauce...this makes it stick much better to the broccoli, providing intense flavor in the dish. Like others, I felt the original seemed to not have enough sauce, but it is actually because of the thinness of it - it can't cling to the broccoli as well, so it winds up in the bottom of the serving dish. Also, as others mentioned, sautéing the garlic first gives a nice rich flavor. As written, it truly is a 5-star recipe...but with a few tweaks, it's off-the-charts good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
My 9 year old son who hates practically anything green, ate ALL his brocolli on his plate and even asked for seconds!! Amazing!! It's a MUST TRY dish!! Oh and you don really need that much butter by the way.. i half it and it was really goood......Ty so much for sharing this recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I didn't even taste this dish when I made it because I really don't care for broccoli but everyone else does. Everyone loved it and it is now a regularly request pot luck item. Go figure. Imade it just as the recipe instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
I found the recipe far too salty for my taste! I even used low sodium soy sauce. The broccoli cooked well and the sauce had some good potential, but definitely too salty. I'd say up the vinegar and brown sugar, and down play the soy sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Absolutely amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Made this for supper with friends tonight, and wow! We all loved the flavor of the sauce - perfect compliment to the broccoli. There were only 4 of us, and hardly a cashew crumb left. Next time I will follow others' advice and boil down the sauce just a bit. My husband after one bite declared "this is a keeper!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This is a great way to jazz up fresh broccoli. The garlicky butter and cashews really made this delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Flavor was good, but I also will try adding a thickener, it was too runny. Went well with the Honey Glazed Chinese chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIOVETTI84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Fantastic!!! My only complaint was that we didn't make enough broccoli, everyone loved it so much that we ran out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Accidentally used white cooking wine instead of white vinegar but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States