Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
i am going to try to make this weekend. read the reviews and have a suggestion that works for me which is to use sour cream or yogurt in place of the mayo(or a combo of each) as it does not seem to soak in like all mayo. perhaps not as much oil? also use a combo of mayo and sour cream or plain yogurt on potato salad for the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Dearolf Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
YUMMMMMMMMY!!!!! I did take the advice of one person and blanch the broccoli. I actually blanched it in the same water I boiled for the tortellini but I blanched it before I put the tortellini in. This is so differnet and I LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spreilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I just made this for my party this weekend.... YUM!! I fried up a whole pound of bacon (not just 6 slices), omitted the raisins, used mostly mayonnaise and a little bit of cole-slaw dressing (I don't like salads like this too sweet)... used boxed dried Barilla-brand tortellini, added about two cups of freshly grated sharp cheddar and definitely blanched the broccoli. Outstanding!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
yummy!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Poole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Very yummy. I typically do not like broccoli, but I thought I would try this for something different. Mmm, glad I did! I tried this with a dried tortellini (in pasta aisle) and another time with frozen tortellini. Both times turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I took this to a Pot Luck tonight and it got great reviews. -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
loved the recipes. I did make the following changes to it like others recommended. -blanched the broccoli -use about a ½ cup or so of dried and sweetened cranberries instead of raisins -use frozen tortellini since they are more sturdy than the fresh ones -use about ½ cup or so of sunflower seeds instead of a full cup -use about 1/3rd of a onion instead of a full onion At the end, toss the salad with about ¾ of the dressing and refrigerate. Right before serving toss the rest of the salad with the remainder of the dressing. Some people recommended doubling the dressing. I've made it twice now, once with double the dressing and another time with with slightly less. Both times I still had too much dressing left over. I would stick with the original amount of dressing on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Wow, loved this salad. I usually am a nut for changing recipes and modifying them but not with this one. I did double the cider vinegar, but thats it. It was a hit, my husband loved it, and can't wait to bring this rocking salad to cook outs this summer. I used a frozen cheese tortilleni as that was what was on sale. They held up perfectly for me. When using fresh or frozen tortellini, keep in mind they cook very fast, around 3 minutes or so. When adding to salads, keep it on the al dente side, they will soften up as they sit. Stir gently when boiling, and gently toss them with the other ingredients with a soft sided spoon, such as wood or plastic. Overall, excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuba Sugar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Brought this to a party yesterday. Big hit! So easy to make and perfect for a pot luck bbq. I added the dressing right before serving so it would dry out. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I don't understand all the raves on this dish...it's like any other broccoli salad smothered with sweet mayonaise. I made this for a potluck, but I didn't eat this (I tested it though and wasn't impressed) I thought others will like it...which most did. As for me, I wasn't fond of it. If you are worried about your weight, skip this one...it's too fattening and isn't all that tasty -- UNLESS you like sweet mayonaise on your broccoli and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 497) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States