Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was good, but I used regular spiral noodles instead of the cheese Tortellini and added chunks of cheese and ham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Charles, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Awesome salad. I follow the recipe expect use frozen brocolli I let thaw out for a little while, then blanch them. Makes it just a little quicker. A little extra dressing is great too!! Love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rach789

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Richmond, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
A huge hit! I did use less than 1/4c sugar, 3/4c mayo and 2Tbsp. cider vinegar, we mixed everything but the pasta and bacon and left sitting for a few hours; then added the last two before serving. It was perfect for my family; the girls devoured the broccoli "trees".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very Good. A relative brought it a family gathering and told me to get the recipe from allrecipes.com. I have made it several times and all have like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
What an excellent salad. I eliminated the bacon (because some of the people we were serving can't eat pork) and sunflower seeds, and substituted dried cranberries for the raisins (personal preference). With many reviewers saying the dressing was too sweet, I added the sugar gradually, tasting as I went - I believe I ended up using half the required amount. I did as others suggested about not adding all the dressing right away. I mixed in about 1/3 when I made it, then added the rest the next day about an hour before serving. 2 days later what little is left is still good. Got raves about the salad, people taking seconds and requests for the recipe. I'll be making this again for sure. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This dish is delicious!! I made it to take camping and it was a big hit. Even my kids liked it!! I added red peppers and cut the sugar a little and was still very tasty!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Fabulous, but I substituted dried cranberries for the raisins, doubled the dressing as noted before and let this "meld" in the refrigerator overnight. I added a few chopped cashews as well, just for good measure. Very excellent salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mason, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I only made half this recipe and it was dinner for 2 and then leftovers for lunch the next day. Blanced the broccoli as suggested. Used 1.5x the amount of mayo suggested but used olive oil based mayo to lighten. Also used turkey bacon for same reason. Only used 1 tbs raw sugar. This recipe is sweet enough with the raisins in each bit that the dressing does not need to be that sweet. Also used mix of sunflower/pumpkin seeds with peanuts since that is what I had in the house. Only half of recommended onion. Used tri-color three cheese tortellini for a bit more color. Wish I had done as recommended by some and held back a bit of the dressing for serving at the table. A good recipe. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Fantastic salad! It's a hit everytime I make it. I did have to adjust the ingredients a bit as follows: I used 24 oz. tortellini, doubled the bacon, tripled the mayo, reduced sugar to 1/4 cup, used 1/2 cup of craisins instead of raisins, and only used 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds. Sooo yummy. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I was not a fan of this salad, although I love the classic broccoli salad without pasta. There is twice as much sugar in this recipe and it did not make a very good dressing. The pasta picked up no flavor. It's edible, but I gave away what was left, which was most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States