Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I have made this dish over 3 dozen times (for catered events, family, parties, etc.) It always gets raves--no leftovers!! As recommended by others, I blanch the broccoli florets for about 30 seconds, plunge into ice water until cooled, then drain and dry. The broccoli stays a gorgeous green and is easier to eat. I usually omit the raisins, but have them on the side for sprinkling. Also, I usually make 1 1/2 times the dressing. Typically, I mix the salad together with about 1/3 of the dressing and leave covered tightly in the fridge overnight or for several hours-the pasta soaks up the dressing. About 30-60 minutes before serving, I add the rest of the dressing. This salad is always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I love this salad, but I find the the dry tortellini (found on the shelf in the pasta aisle) holds up so much better than the refrigerated (and it is a much better bang for your buck). I used Barilla cheese tortellini, and it was absolutely superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
395 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Delish! Make sure to do these few things, and your salad will be Fabulous. 1.) Blanch brocolli peices in almost boiling water for about 1 minute, scoop out and put in ice water to shock and produce a beautiful green 2.) toast sunflower seeds 3.) if you use frozen tortelinni, cook for only 2-3 minutes in not-quite-boiling water- they will be done enough, any longer and they will be mushy and fall apart 4.) make 4 times the dressing called for, use a combo of miricle whip and mayo and only 1/2 cup sugar. Lastly, mix pasta, broccoli, craisins and 2/3 of the dressing the day before and let it marinate! Top with the rest of the dressing, seeds and bacon (i didn't use onion) right before serving. Your family will love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom2Be!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Loved this! Be careful with the tortellini. I hadn't cooked with it before and it tended to fall apart with too much stirring. (I may have overcooked it) I used tri-colored tortellini and craisins for a more festive look, used just less than 1/4 cup sugar and doubled the rest of the dressing ingredients. I blanched the broccoli for 30 seconds. I also followed the suggestion to mix salad with 1/3 of dressing and leave covered in fridge overnight. I added the rest of the dressing an hour before serving. Oh - and I do wish I would have chopped the onions more finely. Resulting taste was a bit more "oniony" than intended. Overall, it turned out wonderfully! I was concerned that the flavors wouldn't blend well, but this was great together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Perfection!...I made this for a group of fifty people. Everyone gorged themselves on it and asked for the recipie! Their was nothing left! Three catering trays were devoured!!! The only adjustments I made were as follows...I reduced the sugar, and sugared 'to taste'. I omitted the raisins, as most people do not like them, and replaced them with cashews(WOW!). I was able to find tri-colored frozen tortellini at a wholesale club and it really added to the presentation. I steamed my broccoli as well. Also, ***VERY IMPORTANT TO DO...DOUBLE THE DRESSING*** I added half the night before and the rest before serving. My advice is not to skip this very important step, it makes all the difference in the world. Folks, it doesn't get much better than this!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I bring this to every picnic, super bowl party, baby shower, etc. It is so so good. I always make 1.5 times the dressing as recommended by other reviewers. I like it sweet, so I leave in the sugar. Also, I blanch the broccoli and onions for a minute before adding them (just throw them into the pasta pot the last minute that the tortellini is cooking) – this makes the broccoli easier to chew and the onions less sharp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rohnert Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
Great recipe which was well received at a recent pot luck dinner. Per other reviews, I did make a few adjustments. For the dressing I used 1 1/2 cups mayo, 6 T sugar and 1 T Cider Vinegar. I reserved some of the dressing to toss just before serving, since pastas absorb a lot of dressing as they sit in the frig. I also save some bacon to sprinkle on top just before serving. Like many others, I did blanch the broccoli. Very tasty recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Very tasty! Nice change from the traditional (boring) pasta salad. Recipe has been requested everytime I've served it. Just a few suggested changes - double the dressing, blanche the broccoli, DECREASE THE ONION to about a 1/4, add lightly toasted cashews and use a combination of raisins and craisins. A little time-consuming but well worth it. I expect to be making this regularly in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
At a large family gathering we were raiding the sweets for an evening snack and my cousin opted for another portion of this salad instead! Lazy cook that I am, I use barely thawed frozen broccoli florets. This went directly into my all time favorites file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
WONDERFUL recipe! The tortellini is a nice change and easy to make!! I'll come home and have this be my meal for the evening. It's good even when not chilled. Thanks for sharing such a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 489) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States