Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I don't understand all the raves on this dish...it's like any other broccoli salad smothered with sweet mayonaise. I made this for a potluck, but I didn't eat this (I tested it though and wasn't impressed) I thought others will like it...which most did. As for me, I wasn't fond of it. If you are worried about your weight, skip this one...it's too fattening and isn't all that tasty -- UNLESS you like sweet mayonaise on your broccoli and bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This salad is a superb mix of flavors and textures. The sweet dressing paired with the salty bacon and cheese tortellini is summer salad perfection! I followed other reviewers suggestions - used dried tortellini and blanched the broccoli - and will make it the same way from now on. I made a quadruple batch of this salad for a college graduation party and it was completely devoured in 30 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I love this! I've had it before at summer BBQ's, but they never included the tortellini. I love what it adds to this dish! Looking forward to enjoying it as a light lunch tomorrow! --I happened to have some shaved fennel from pizza-making, and added it to this...nice addition :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I have made this pasta salad sooooooo many times and it never fails to delight any/all eaters! I've never used the dried Barilla type tortellini but am willing to try it. The fresh Buitoni is killer-diller. It really DOES need more dressing. The pasta seems to soak it up. I start with 1 full cup of mayonnaise and adjust the sugar and vinegar to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
great flavor... I did use more dressing than this recipe called for and I skipped the raisins and seeds and added cauliflower to the broccoli was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Sooo good. Sometimes I make extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caiti324

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I too thought...after the fact, that the broccoli should have been blanched at least. I have a vegetarian boyfriend so couldn't add the bacon and didn't have any vegetarain version of it on hand either! The red onion was way too strong and the ingredients didn't blend well together; because it wasn't cohesive, we were left with the mix of seeds, onions and raisins at the bottom of our bowls. I also did not care for the dressing! I've had a similar broccoli salad with onions, raisins, seeds and cheddar cheese with the same type of dressing - minus the pasta, so I was really hoping for something good and a little more substantial. I won't be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skatkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
The ingredients sound strange in this salad, but they dance on your tongue when you eat it. Very good. I've made it for years, and always gets great reviews. Make ahead and let those noodles soak up the juices of the dressing. However if you keep overnight, make sure you have extra dressing, as the noodles DO soak up the dressing and it will then seem dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Really good and tasty. I too blanched the broccoli by throwing it in with the pasta for the last minute of cooking. I probably only used half an onion too because I didn't want it to overpower the dish. I added a little black pepper for my taste and used craisins instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is the best broccoli pasta! I love the combination...bacon, cheese, red onion and raisins! yum yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States