Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
The family loved this!!! I opted out of the raisins & sunflower seeds, and used white onion instead....it was gone quickly!! Made a perfect lunch for both kiddo and husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weaverville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Had a package of tortellini I wanted to use up along with some broccoli. This was a very good combination. I added the broccoli to the last 2 minutes of the boiling tortellini water to make the green "pop" in color. I would do this again. Make your dressing up ahead of time so that the sugar has time to melt into the mayonnaise, stirring often. I used all the ingredients, but changed the order a little bit. After the dressing was well blended, about an hour I added it to the salad, withholding the sunflower seeds and bacon. I added those right before serving because I wanted them to still have some crunch. Good salad and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Loved this stuff! Made as directed except doubled dressing (tho only a little more than 1/2 c sugar - that was plenty sweet). Also saved about 1/4 of the dressing to be added when serving. Next time would do only 1/2 of a red onion; even tho I really like onion, this much was too dominate. Added bacon and seeds when I added the final bit of dressing about 6 hrs later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Made this up for a family gathering, and it went over pretty well. I cut back on the sugar and thought it was still slightly too sweet. I'm not sure if I would make it again, it just didn't "do it" for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tumwater, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I didn't have sunflower seeds on hand, so I used slivered almonds- It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn H Dockter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I brought this to a potluck and it was a huge hit! I followed other reviewers tips and blanched the broccoli and onion for 2 minutes, divided the raisins into half raisins and craisins, toasted the sunflower seeds and cut the sugar in half. I also added a head of broccoli, cut the cider vinegar in half and doubled the amount of dressing. I couldn't find dry tortellini in the store so I used fresh and it worked out perfectely. Thank you for this recipe I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made this for a baby shower and it was simply wonderful. I did follow a few suggestions and made the salad the day before with 1/2 the dressing. Simply Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Delicious! Make sure to cook the tortellini al dente and blanch the broccoli in the boiling tortellini water to save on time. I omitted the onions and raisins but kept everything else the same. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I tried this because I like the classic broccoli salad - and this is it pretty much but with tortellini - and thought this would be more like a main dish. I didn't care for the addition of the tortellini but I'm sure that's just a personal preference. I think it was because 'sweet' is good with all of the other ingredients but I didn't care for sweet tortellini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
LOVED IT. First time I made it. It's easy. Took it to work and first to go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 493) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States