Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
HUGE hit as a side dish on Easter. I followed the directions exactly. One thing I would have done differently is follow another's suggestion to blanche the broccoli a bit for a softer texture so that it could absorb the dressing a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This was a great recipe. I blanched the broccoli for 30 seconds exactly. Any longer and it would have been too soft. The blanching really brought out the beautiful green in the broccoli. After blanching, I soaked the florets in ice water. Per another suggestion, I made 1.5 times the dressing, added 1/3 of it right after I made the salad. Placed everything in a Ziploc in the fridge for a few hours and before I served it, I added the remaining dressing. I didn't 1.5 times the sugar in the dressing but kept it at 1/2 a cup sine I don't like things super sweet. I also needed to add some salt to the salad after I made it and it could be because I didn't salt the water enough when I cooked the tortellini. I also only used 1/4 of a purple onion. it seems like a whole one would have been too much and it could be because the onion I had was on the larger size. Everyone complimented me and it was all gone! This is going to be my new go-to potluck dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agziller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Great dish, but make sure it is all gobbled up the day you make it because it doesn't make much of a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Mmmm. Loved this! A big hit at our potluck. Something tasty and different from the usuals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Good recipe- I followed this recipe without reading any of the comments making a few health conscientious changes. I used light mayo, splenda instead of sugar, 50% less sugar dried cranberries instead of raisins and 5 heads of broccoli. I used the same amount of dressing. Turned out very well and not nearly as heavy as the original recipe. Next time I think I will blanch the broccoli as recommended by others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I had the chance to try this amazing salad recently, minus the red onion, plus dried cranberries. It. Was the best dish on the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Lovely recipe that I modified slightly. Used 20oz of the dry tortellini and blanched the broccoli in the pasta water at the end of cooking for 2mins. Used 3/4 cup mayo with 1/4 cup sugar and 3TBLS of cider vinegar. Mixed a the dressing, veggies,pasta and craisins together and chilled over night. Mixed in the bacon and seeds right before serving to my co-workers that loved it. What little that was left tasted even better the next day!! Thank you AMFC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ojai, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Way too much sugar. All that sugar turns this into a dessert and it loses all its nutrients from the broccoli. Cut that sugar down and you'll be good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I ordered a version of this salad from a local deli and loved it. So, I came on allrecipes to try to find a similar recipe. Thank goodness I did...I could eat this salad for breakfast, lunch and dinner! For the dressing I mixed 1/2 cup of miracle whip, 1/2 cup regular mayo, and 1/4 cup sugar (which is plenty of sugar--you could easily get away with using even less than 1/4 cup). I prefer to use golden raisins. Also, I think it is best if you cut up the broccoli into small bite size pieces (only using the florets and omitting the stem/stalk). Absolutely my favorite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
AWESOME!! Tweeked it a bit. Used 2 cups of the dry tortellini and I left out the sunflower seeds. Per the other reviews I blanched the broccoli. I used 3/4 cup mayo, 1/3 cup sugar and 3 teaspoons cider vinegar. A definite keeper and will be making it again for Memorial Day weekend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States