Broccoli and Tortellini Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is a fantastic summer side...or entire meal for that matter! Currently making this for the third time in as many weeks! Thanks for sharing this excellent flavorful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
This broccoli salad is fantastic. I followed the advice of many reviewers before more me and I thank them all for their tips. 1) Only cooked the refrigerated tortellini for 2-3 mins. 2) Blanched the broccoli in super hot water for 1 minute. 3) Double the amount of salad dressing!!! This last bullet is imperative. I put half the dressing on the night before and the other half just before serving it. Also, add sugar to the dressing in baby steps (1 T. at a time) and then taste test it. I personally didn't add nearly the amount of sugar the recipe called for but that is just personal taste. I waited to add the sunflower seeds and the crumbled bacon to the salad until the last minute as well. I was worried that they would get soggy overnight and the crunchy texture is part of the salad's uniqueness in my opinion. This recipe went immediately into my favorite folder!! Thanks AMFC for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This was just okay...I kept adding cider vinegar until the taste and consistency was just right, but the rest of the family didn't care for it. I enjoyed it, but being the lone saveur, I saved the dressing in a ziploc and the broccoli in a gladware, with the bacon in a snack size ziploc, so I can enjoy the rest at my leisure. Keeper for me, but not for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Sandra
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This was a good recipe. I added salmon, sun dried tomato, olives instead of the other toppings and substituted may for olive oil and garlic dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This broccoli salad was very good.There are many pantry ready ingredients which make this a go to dish for me.I also cut the sugar in half,used dried 3 cheese tortellini,frozen broccoli and added 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese.Thank you for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I made this to bring to a Memorial Day cookout along with the blueberry and apple pecan pie from this site . I made the brocolli salad per directions except I bought sunflower seeds in the shell instead of the seeds so I substituted with chopped pecans. I would advise to use only 1/2 of the dressing made the night before and toss with the other half in the morning. Add bacon and nuts just before serving. I received raves and wanted the recipe. Will make many times more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
My family hated this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
This dish is a staple during the summer for cookouts. I usually triple the recipe for our family (I only double the broccoli, triple everything else) because people love this stuff so much. The only thing I change is to omit the raisins and sunflower seeds and add in sliced almonds. I do not blanch the broccoli as others have, I love the crisp crunch against the soft tortellini. I also follow the tortellini cooking instructions since I use frozen and only cook about 3-5 minutes. I have even made this and added in some sliced up grilled chicken and made this a main dish. Simply love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFTYJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I love this recipe, but I need to cut back on calories. In order to reduce calories, I use turkey bacon and substitute no fat mayonnaise and use bow tie pasta in place of the cheese tortellini. I also prefer dried cranberries to raisins. Both of my daughter-in-laws have requested the recipe. There are no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
HUGE hit as a side dish on Easter. I followed the directions exactly. One thing I would have done differently is follow another's suggestion to blanche the broccoli a bit for a softer texture so that it could absorb the dressing a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States