Broccoli and Stuffing Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I left out the onion so the kids would eat it, and mixed everything together rather than layering. Also added some garlic & paprika for more oomph. It was ok, but I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I thought this was really good. My husband has high cholesterol and high blood pressure (inherited-- he's only 27 years old, and is a runner in otherwise great shape!), so I make substitutions as a general rule. I used a whole can of 98% fat free soup, and replaced the mayo with 1 cup of fat free plain yogurt. With the extra moisture, I didn't have trouble with it drying out. (thanks for the heads up from the other reviewers!) Also, I made my own simple stuffing on top using olive oil instead of butter. This recipe was a great idea-- I never would have thought of such a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe was average. Nothing spectacular. It doesn't reheat well either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Peru, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
Delicious. Did make a few changes. Steamed broccoli & I always trim, slice & chop stems. No butter. 2 boxes [10 oz each] of stove top chicken stuffing. Used crm of celery soup. I also cooked up one pkg of brown & serve pork sausage & sliced them up. Took others advice & mixed it all together. I'm making this has a side dish for Xmas. Will double the recipe, triple the sauce. Put one of those new crock pot liner bags in my crock pot and cook on low. I'm thinking that by using the liner it won't burn on the sides Wish me luck!!!! Post note: Liner worked beautifully, not dry & didn't burn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This casserole is very flavorful, my family loved it when I made it as a Thanksgiving side. However, keep an eye on it as its baking. I had a problem with it rapidly drying out in spite of the mayo/egg/soup mixture. I ended up mixing a can of cream of mushroom soup and some milk and pouring it over the top about 10 min. before it was done, and covering it with foil for the final bake. After that it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I also (as usual) changed the recipe... I mixed all the ingreidents instead of layering, plus added 1/4 cup of sour cream and 3 oz of cream cheese. I used 2 cups of shredded cheddar cheese mixed into all, not on top. And I used frozen brocolli instead of fresh, which saved the step of boiling it first. The moisture was fine, not too wet or dry this way. Everyone loved it and says it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Berkeley Springs, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
I also followed this recipe to the letter and was disappointed. It was to dry and it had WAY to much mayo. I dont think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Queidersbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Very dry and found it had a strong mayo flavor. I followed instructions to the letter, very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
I really liked this recipe. It had lots of flavor and I didn't have to add much seasoning because the stuffing added a lot. The only thing I would change is wait until the last 15 minutes to add the cheese so it will stay soft and not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I like the use of broccoli in this dish. We love broccoli and this is a new use for us. This is much like green bean casserole you have at thanksgiving. Although I prefer sour cream to the mayo and I sometimes add the crispy onions for a crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States