Broccoli and Stilton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
A very quick and tasty soup. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Pett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Fantastic and simple. You really have to be a fan of blue cheese to like this. I added a minced clove of garlic about 30 seconds before adding the vegetables. Don't forget to season with salt and pepper. When adding the cheese, I added a dash of red pepper flakes to give it a little bite. It was perfect. Must have some chewy, crusty bread to dip with. Fantastic! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
What attracted me first to the recipe was the lack of cream. It is quick, simple, elegant, and very tasty. My husband loved the recipe, and I plan to pass this one onto my mother-in-law. I served each heaping bowl with a few exgra crumbles of the cheese on top as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I thought this soup was great. I love blue cheese (and HATE broccoli), and I had some broccoli in the fridge to use up, so I thought I'd try it out. I added some celery, garlic, and cauliflower, and seasoned with white and black pepper. It was fantastic. My husband liked it too. I'll definitely make this again! Did I mention that I hate broccoli?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
the soup was excellent all our family and friends agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUM! YUM! YUM! I have been pining for 9 years for the soup I fell in love with while studying abroad in Cambridge, England, so I was so shocked and happy to find a broccoli & stilton soup recipe here. When I started making it, I was worried that I had built it up too much in my head, and I didn't want to be disappointed. I WASN'T! This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as stated, but I think maybe the potatoes I used were a little big, because it came out a bit thick. I just added another cup of broth, and it was awesome. I served it with french bread and butter. Simple and perfect! This recipe didn't even need extra salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup is very hearty and filling for a low calorie option. Not a huge fan of stilton, so I substituted sharp cheddar. Also used vegetable stock to make it for my vegetarian friends. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a hearty vegetable soup that is also tasty thanks to the excellent blue cheese. It can be slightly bland if your eating it as an entree though. Adding a whole red bell pepper (makes it a little sweeter and more colorful) and a tablespoon finely chopped garlic with the veggies, and the red pepper flakes will give it that extra bite. I have also been known to add an ounce or two more stilton than the original recipe calls for. I even substituted vege broth for the chicken broth and made it for my vegetarian friends, though you have to add a bit of salt and pepper to make up for the difference. Overall a great recipe and a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We liked this soup, made only hours ago, and will have it again. It is perfect for a cold, wintery day. Even people who don't care for bleu cheese will find this recipe an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is absolutely the best tasting broccoli soup I have ever eaten. The blue Stilton I bought from igourmet.com made this soup out of this world good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States