Broccoli and Stilton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Fantastic and simple. You really have to be a fan of blue cheese to like this. I added a minced clove of garlic about 30 seconds before adding the vegetables. Don't forget to season with salt and pepper. When adding the cheese, I added a dash of red pepper flakes to give it a little bite. It was perfect. Must have some chewy, crusty bread to dip with. Fantastic! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This soup is very hearty and filling for a low calorie option. Not a huge fan of stilton, so I substituted sharp cheddar. Also used vegetable stock to make it for my vegetarian friends. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
What attracted me first to the recipe was the lack of cream. It is quick, simple, elegant, and very tasty. My husband loved the recipe, and I plan to pass this one onto my mother-in-law. I served each heaping bowl with a few exgra crumbles of the cheese on top as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I thought this soup was great. I love blue cheese (and HATE broccoli), and I had some broccoli in the fridge to use up, so I thought I'd try it out. I added some celery, garlic, and cauliflower, and seasoned with white and black pepper. It was fantastic. My husband liked it too. I'll definitely make this again! Did I mention that I hate broccoli?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
the soup was excellent all our family and friends agree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
A very quick and tasty soup. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Pett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUM! YUM! YUM! I have been pining for 9 years for the soup I fell in love with while studying abroad in Cambridge, England, so I was so shocked and happy to find a broccoli & stilton soup recipe here. When I started making it, I was worried that I had built it up too much in my head, and I didn't want to be disappointed. I WASN'T! This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as stated, but I think maybe the potatoes I used were a little big, because it came out a bit thick. I just added another cup of broth, and it was awesome. I served it with french bread and butter. Simple and perfect! This recipe didn't even need extra salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a hearty vegetable soup that is also tasty thanks to the excellent blue cheese. It can be slightly bland if your eating it as an entree though. Adding a whole red bell pepper (makes it a little sweeter and more colorful) and a tablespoon finely chopped garlic with the veggies, and the red pepper flakes will give it that extra bite. I have also been known to add an ounce or two more stilton than the original recipe calls for. I even substituted vege broth for the chicken broth and made it for my vegetarian friends, though you have to add a bit of salt and pepper to make up for the difference. Overall a great recipe and a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
We liked this soup, made only hours ago, and will have it again. It is perfect for a cold, wintery day. Even people who don't care for bleu cheese will find this recipe an exception.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is absolutely the best tasting broccoli soup I have ever eaten. The blue Stilton I bought from igourmet.com made this soup out of this world good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States