Broccoli and Stilton Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Fantastic and simple. You really have to be a fan of blue cheese to like this. I added a minced clove of garlic about 30 seconds before adding the vegetables. Don't forget to season with salt and pepper. When adding the cheese, I added a dash of red pepper flakes to give it a little bite. It was perfect. Must have some chewy, crusty bread to dip with. Fantastic! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
What attracted me first to the recipe was the lack of cream. It is quick, simple, elegant, and very tasty. My husband loved the recipe, and I plan to pass this one onto my mother-in-law. I served each heaping bowl with a few exgra crumbles of the cheese on top as garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
YUM! YUM! YUM! I have been pining for 9 years for the soup I fell in love with while studying abroad in Cambridge, England, so I was so shocked and happy to find a broccoli & stilton soup recipe here. When I started making it, I was worried that I had built it up too much in my head, and I didn't want to be disappointed. I WASN'T! This is a great recipe. I made it exactly as stated, but I think maybe the potatoes I used were a little big, because it came out a bit thick. I just added another cup of broth, and it was awesome. I served it with french bread and butter. Simple and perfect! This recipe didn't even need extra salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shopperooni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My husband went nuts when he tasted this! He can't stop eating it. I added garlic and an extra can of chicken broth because it was very thick. I also added extra stilton---just because I love it. I am going to make this for my gourmet New Years Eve dinner I am making for friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
I thought this soup was great. I love blue cheese (and HATE broccoli), and I had some broccoli in the fridge to use up, so I thought I'd try it out. I added some celery, garlic, and cauliflower, and seasoned with white and black pepper. It was fantastic. My husband liked it too. I'll definitely make this again! Did I mention that I hate broccoli?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
I fell in love with this soup when I went home to England to visit family and have been searching for my own recipe since. I added another cup of chicken stock and halved the cheese, it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
This is a hearty vegetable soup that is also tasty thanks to the excellent blue cheese. It can be slightly bland if your eating it as an entree though. Adding a whole red bell pepper (makes it a little sweeter and more colorful) and a tablespoon finely chopped garlic with the veggies, and the red pepper flakes will give it that extra bite. I have also been known to add an ounce or two more stilton than the original recipe calls for. I even substituted vege broth for the chicken broth and made it for my vegetarian friends, though you have to add a bit of salt and pepper to make up for the difference. Overall a great recipe and a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
First time we have ever tried using Stilton cheese and we just didn't like it at all. The flavor was off and wasn't what we expected. Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
This was a very tasty recipe althought next time I make it I will put more stilton in. Thats is just being picky though - well worth a try - very authenic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
A very quick and tasty soup. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcus Pett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Berkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States