Broccoli and Sausage Cavatelli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I love this pasta. I bake/grill the sausage ahead of time, then dice it, don't use any oil at all, and add lots more cheese than called for, although I keep to the stated amount of parmesan (I usually add an additional 1 cup something like pepperjack or provolone or cheddar) to make extra cheesy. Then I toss the blanched broccoli, diced sausage, garlic, cheese, and red pepper flakes with the hot pasta (just boiled) and mix thoroughly to melt the cheese (sometimes add a bit of the pasta cooking water to make the cheesy coating lighter). VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Family enjoyed this one, and I liked the fact that it was easy and quick to prepare. I did use turkey sausage, but otherwise followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
This recipe was good, but I think it could've been made better by simply adding 1/4 cup of pasta water. I'm not sure what, but there was something lacking in this dish for me. Couldn't give it 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
we love this, I used fresh Broccoli instead of frozen. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Makes a ton! I don't have cavatelli pasta so I made it with tri color rotini. I added 2 cans of diced tomatoes and garlic to the suasage mixture then let some of the juice from the tomatoes reduce. I completerly forgot the olive oil but didn't really need it with the juice from the tomatoes. Needs a bit more seasoning but otherwise a good dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Good recipe. Next time I will cut the pasta in half. Seemed a tad dry but was very good. Took the left overs and added some marinara for a different meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
A little on the bland side all by itself but you can easily fix that with a little more spice. I'd like to try it with mushrooms sometime when the wife isn't around. Overall a solid meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thugglife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
This was a good, solid meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Fabulous!! Especially with the modifiactions made by Boonie12! The mushrooms really complimented the other flavors. Hmmm, I wonder how artichoke hearts would taste in there? I'll just have to give it a try next time! Thanks for a great, restaurant quality dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I'm giving this only 4 stars because it's not incredibly flavorful. I really like the base of it as a pasta dish, but I think I will be adding more veggies, like maybe red pepper and more seasonings, like garlic and maybe onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fiph4

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States