Broccoli and Sausage Cavatelli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I made a half version of this recipe. I used turkey sausage links and whole wheat spirals, and left out the olive oil. I used 3/4 cups of chicken broth instead. It was a little dry, but very good! 4 servings with 364 calories and 4.6 grams of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
THIS RECIPES IS GREAT FOR A QUICK AND EASY FIX DURING THE WEEK. THE ONLY CHANGE I MADE WAS...I ADDED CHICKEN BROTH AND EXTRA GARLIC. IT'S A KEEPER...THANKS SUSAN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Thought it was a bit bland. Had to add salt and more red pepper to it. Added the red pepper to the oil as it cooked as others suggested. Might alter and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I am Italian and the picture you have for the pasta is not Cavatelli it is Rotellini. Anyway, my kids loved this recipe. I used penne pasta since I did not have Cavatelli on hand but all the same it was number one in this household. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I didn't care for this, which is unsual since there are very few pastas I don't like. Husband said it was good, but wasn't overly excited about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is a simple and tasty recipe that can be made fast. My three boys all loved it. The only changes I made were draining all but 1 t. of the grease and using a little pasta water with it after after garlic is cooked. A little healther I guess. :) I also substituted whole grain pasta. My kids have requested a repeat soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was so good. I used rigatoni. Any kind of pasta will do. Quick and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Was a little bland, next time I will make some of the additions that other reviewers did. (See below)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I make a very similar dish which we like very much but with the following changes: Bratwurst instead of Italian sausage, steamed fresh broccoli w/nutmeg, mushrooms, grated Romano instead of Parmesan cheese &, like many other reviewers - lots more garlic. The brat, broccoli & mushrooms are each sauteed separately & set aside until all ingredients are combined in the final step. Here's how I do it differently: 1) Bratwurst: I remove the casings from the Bratwurst (which I find more flavorful than Italian sausage) & saute the meat loose so that, in the final product, it's distributed evenly throughout the dish; 2) Broccoli/nutmeg: I peel the broccoli, cut into bitesize florets & steam just until the color turns a bright green. I then shock the broccoli in cold water to halt the cooking process & set it aside. When combining all the ingredients, I sprinkle 1/4 tsp nutmeg over the broccoli to bring out the flavor. 3) Mushrooms: Quarter & saute (button or crimini) mushrooms until golden brown. In the final dish the pasta becomes a rich golden brown from the sauteed/carmelized meat & mushrooms. Mmmmmmm...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States