Broccoli and Sausage Cavatelli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Made this for dinner last nite, with a few changes. I used 2 lbs of sausage, (4 sausages, 1 hot, 3 mild).After cooking the sausages with 4 garlic cloves and 3/4 of a med onion, chopped, I cut the sausages into pieces about 1/4 inch thich,drained the grease, added fresh basil and a 28 oz can of whole tomatoes with basil,'squishing' the tomatoes. Also deglazed the pan with a little merlot. My husband and I really enjoyed it, the tomatoes made a great light tasting sauce. Used fresh grated parmesan. Blended well. We're having it again tonite. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
WOW! Excellent recipe! My husbands new favorite! I added more garlic and more crushed red pepper. I always steam the broccoli and toss it with the pasta and sausage at the end. If the mixture isn't moist enough, I toss in additional broccoli steaming water to our level of moistness. I only use hot turkey italian sausage (for fat/calorie purposes) but real hot italian sausage is the most flavorful. I normally remove casings and cook the sausage until it's well cooked and crumbly. I'm not a huge salt fan but I do add salt to this dish to compliment the dish well. It was out of this world! Thank you Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedVinoGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
I changed this recipe around alittle. First I used chicken broth instead of oil. I also used sliced chicken sausage and omitted the red pepper flakes. My husband and I enjoyed it. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I'm going to rate this as a 3.5 for how it is written. I didn't intend on all the additions but it evolved as needed. With changes it was 5+. I browned the turkey italian sausage until crisp then added approx. 1/2 C chopped onion, approx. 1/2 C sliced mushrooms and 1 chopped tomatoe along with the garlic. Also added a variety of spices. Only used 3/4 lb. of Barilla Plus Penne and added the al dente pasta and thawed broccoli into skillet. Stired and added about a cup of chicken broth, 1/2 C skim evaporated milk and a handful of parm. cheese. Take off heat and let rest 5-10 minutes stiring frequently until desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Beijing, Beijing (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This is an excellent recipe - garlic, red pepper flakes and hot Italian sausage - yum! I have made this with both asparagus and broccoli, will try spinach next. You can usually find Cavatelli at Italian Markets like A.G. Ferreri, but any pasta shaped like Penne will work great. A must try recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2004
I made a reduced version of this with 2 sausages, a splash of olive oil, 4 garlic cloves (I like my garlic), about 1.5 cups chopped FRESH broccoli, 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes, about 1/4 cup parmesan, and some fresh asparagus. I prepared exactly as per recipe except I boiled the broccoli 6 minutes instea of 3; and I sauteed the asparagus, chopped, at the same time as the garlic in order to soften it. The flavours were a very good mix & I would definitely to it again. I recommend chopping the sausage BEFORE frying, assuming you want it chopped; it will cook much faster that way. If you like this try Asparagus, Chicken and Penne Pasta from this website, it is really very similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2003
This is a keeper! Easy and delicious. I used a bit more sausage (hot) and used 1/4 c. butter with 1/4 c. olive oil. I couldn't find cavatelli, so I used penne. Still great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATCAT9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greenville, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
This was very quick to make and very tasty! It is similar to one of my favorite dishes at a local restaraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CSTEVENS1972

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Recipe is great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
GREAT RECIPE, EVEN A GUY CAN COOK. IT CAME OUT VERY GOOD, EVEN THE NEIGHBORS LIKED IT. MADE IT ONE NIGHT FOR MY FAMILY AND EVEN THE KIDS (2)(6)ATE IT WITCH SURPRISED ME! THEY DONT LIKE ANYTHING BUT HOT DOGS AND POTATO CHIPS..THANKS FOR THE GREAT MEAL!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUNNER1
Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States