Broccoli and Sausage Cavatelli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Very good and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Thought it was a bit bland. Had to add salt and more red pepper to it. Added the red pepper to the oil as it cooked as others suggested. Might alter and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This recipe was delicious. I am Italian and the picture you have for the pasta is not Cavatelli it is Rotellini. Anyway, my kids loved this recipe. I used penne pasta since I did not have Cavatelli on hand but all the same it was number one in this household. It is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I didn't care for this, which is unsual since there are very few pastas I don't like. Husband said it was good, but wasn't overly excited about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This is a simple and tasty recipe that can be made fast. My three boys all loved it. The only changes I made were draining all but 1 t. of the grease and using a little pasta water with it after after garlic is cooked. A little healther I guess. :) I also substituted whole grain pasta. My kids have requested a repeat soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sPi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was so good. I used rigatoni. Any kind of pasta will do. Quick and easy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Was a little bland, next time I will make some of the additions that other reviewers did. (See below)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I make a very similar dish which we like very much but with the following changes: Bratwurst instead of Italian sausage, steamed fresh broccoli w/nutmeg, mushrooms, grated Romano instead of Parmesan cheese &, like many other reviewers - lots more garlic. The brat, broccoli & mushrooms are each sauteed separately & set aside until all ingredients are combined in the final step. Here's how I do it differently: 1) Bratwurst: I remove the casings from the Bratwurst (which I find more flavorful than Italian sausage) & saute the meat loose so that, in the final product, it's distributed evenly throughout the dish; 2) Broccoli/nutmeg: I peel the broccoli, cut into bitesize florets & steam just until the color turns a bright green. I then shock the broccoli in cold water to halt the cooking process & set it aside. When combining all the ingredients, I sprinkle 1/4 tsp nutmeg over the broccoli to bring out the flavor. 3) Mushrooms: Quarter & saute (button or crimini) mushrooms until golden brown. In the final dish the pasta becomes a rich golden brown from the sauteed/carmelized meat & mushrooms. Mmmmmmm...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Oh, wow, we just loved this. I added a can of tomatoes, but that was the only change. Fantastic! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marquette, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rgem619
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
I made this recipe last night... I loved it! So did my husband & daughter. I will definately make it again next time w/ maybe chicken or shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States