Broccoli and Sausage Cavatelli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Simply delicious pasta dish! This is quick to prepare but has wonderful flavor, perfect for a busy weeknight. I followed the recipe as written but I added 3T butter to the olive oil mix, only because I prefer some butter in garlic & oil pasta dishes. I also added some sliced roasted red peppers for some color, and they really complimented the dish. I will use this dish often, thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Kayla
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This is delicious! I made a few changes as per other reviewers recommendations. I deglazed the pan with some white wine and added a small onion with the olive oil and garlic. After it had cooked to transparency, I added two 14 ounce cans of tomatoes with basil, etc. I cooked this for about 1/2 hour, until the tomatoes softened. I also added a small amount of salt, pepper, and a little extra basil. I increase the red pepper because my hubby likes his food spicy, and I add it straight to the tomato mixture. I've used both regular Italian and Italian turkey sausages, and found that both taste good in this. The major difference is the texture. Since I couldn't find cavatelli in my local stores, I used tri-colored farfalle. It was delicious and pretty. Also, make sure you use the baby broccoli florets. It's so much more flavorful and tender than the cut broccoli. I follow everything else as written, and this is GREAT! It's a weekly meal in my house. Give it a try! You won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylorville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was absolutely amazing! Not only did my husband love it but my 5 year old and 18 month old daughters both loved it as well! This was also so easy to make and you can adjust the red pepper flakes to your liking. I will definately keep this one in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Easy and tasty. Used fresh steamed broccoli and followed recipe. Disappeared, no leftovers -;).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I took the basic concept and went with it. Used spicy Louisiana sausage instead of Italian (and, only 1/2 lb to reduce fat and calories). Sauteed this with bell pepper pieces and onion, then sprinkled with garlic powder (too lazy to peel and mince "real" garlic). After a few minutes, poured in a can of evaporated milk. Seasoned with dried parsley, salt and crushed red pepper. Added cooked farfalle (1 lb pre-cook weight), and chopped, blanched fresh broccoli (3 mins). After all the ingredients were tossed, I sprinkled with parmesan, let it rest, then melt, then re-tossed, and... WOW. My new favorite food. This is a great flexible recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda in Alaska

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Quite delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathlene07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Amazing recipe! Next time I will try italian seasoned canned tomatoes like momasita suggested. A great dinner we will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was so good and so easy! I make some kind of pasta w/veggies at least 2x a week, and the sausage in this added that extra "yum" factor sometimes missing from my vegetarian meals. I wish I could have used cavatelli, but my store didn't have it, so I used penne. Also used fresh steamed broccoli, instead of boiling frozen in with the pasta. I don't use crushed red pepper often and the last time I used as instructed in a different recipe it was way too hot, so I was a little hesitant, but the heat level here (with regular italian sausage, not spicy) was just right. I was also extra generous with the fresh grated parmesan. Will definitely make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
My whole family loved this! I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen and steamed it separately, but otherwise followed the recipe and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephciar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by more please
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I have made this a couple of times and I really like it. I added spinach and a can of diced tomatoes with basil. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by more please

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Monte, California, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cavatelli and Broccoli

See how to make healthy, quick-and-easy broccoli and pasta.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States