Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This was good but I have to agree that the dressing seemed to be missing something. I added some soy sauce, crushed garlic, fresh lime juice and chopped cilantro to give this salad a bit of an extra "kick". It got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Even if you try this only once...it will totally win you over! This is an excellent salad to bring to potlucks, summer games, or a light salad with a sandwich at home. Friends ask me to make this over and over and over (my boyfriend is getting tired of it only because it is "requested" everywhere we go!). Extremely easy, can't mess it up. The longer it sits in the fridge, the better it gets. I put it in a Rubbermaid and turn it over every couple of hours until ready to eat. You won't be able to put it back in the fridge. TO DIE FOR! Oh, and DON'T cook the ramen noodles first! Crush them up and add them...they will absorb the liquid in the recipe. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
I used regular coleslaw mix instead of broccoli coleslaw and sliced almonds instead of peanuts. This is best when you keep the slaw/green onion mixture, the sunflower seeds/almonds/ramen noodles mixture and the dressing separate until serving time (much better when it's crunchy, but it's still pretty good when the noodles and nuts get soggy). It will stay somewhat crunchy for about 12 hours after mixing together. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickes, Arkansas, USA
Living In: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
I loved the salad, but had to make it twice. I wished the recipe said to cook the ramen noodles first! I guess since I was new to this ingredient, I didn't think to cook them first. My first batch had crunchy noodles! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I made this dish for my best friend's 30th birthday celebration themed "Brunch on the Beach" and it was a hit!! I followed the directions precisely except for minor changes. Instead of using vegetable oil, chicken flavored noodles and peanuts,I used toasted sesame oil, oriental flavored ramen noodles and added sliced almonds. The toasted sesame oil definately enhanced the flavor. And I did not cook the noodles prior to adding them to the salad. I enjoy cooking but I don't like spending all day chopping or being in the kitchen so this recipe was amazingly easy and my kind of "cooking"; a palate pleaser. I will definately make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
If I hadn't tasted this recipe made by someone else first, I'd have been seriously sceptical about the uncooked Ramen noodles. But, honestly, you DON'T cook them! Just break them up and toss them in. It's supposed to add crunch to the salad. Some alternate versions of this recipe saute the noodles in butter but that's just to add flavor not to soften them. The dressing will be absorbed by the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
A package of broccoli slaw costs $2.98 a bag. I got a couple of crowns of broccoli for .98 a LB, grabbed 2 carrots and a nice purple onion for color. I also got 6 packs of Raman for a buck! I had several choices for the vinegar, I went with Malt vinegar, I figured I could use it on my fish and chips in the future. Great Kick for said fried fish btw. Hee Hee. I went home, rough chopped the crowns, shredded the carrots and sliced the onion real thin. I found a small bag of roasted almonds in the cabinet, Score! This salad is just the Best tasting, sweet and tangy! I baked some chicken and I put that on the salad. Excellent lite lunch or super simple dinner!!:) Thank you Effie and Jarmen, from the bottom of my stuffed belly. This Rocks:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Great! I tweaked a little - I don't add peanuts, I add 1/4 cup chopped red onion, chopped celery, toasted sesame seeds, a few splashes sesame oil, and some wasabi powder to the sauce (for zip). I even put in red bell pepper, cabbage, and ginger powder if I'm feeling it. Only use one ramen package (oriental flavor), 1/8 cup sugar (actually splenda sugar/sweetner mix), mix natural rice vinegar with the cider vinegar. We love the end result - but I would definitely follow the recipe as it's written if I were serving to a large group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I served this at a BBQ recently and it was a huge hit! Lots of requests for the recipe. It's really important to add the peanuts an sunflower seeds right before serving otherwise they'll get too soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
Wonderful salad! Next time I will use less ramen noodles and more of the broccoli slaw. Very colorful.We had it for two meals and snacked on it throughout the day. pkincaid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Red Broccoli Salad

Fresh broccoli with lots of bacon, grapes, almonds, and a sweet, tangy dressing.

Bodacious Broccoli Salad

A kicking, creamy 5-star broccoli salad with bacon and cheese.

Alyson's Broccoli Salad

This tasty salad is perfect for potlucks and buffets.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States