Broccoli and Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe & its not very difficult to prepare. I doubled the amount of broccoli added about 1 tablespoon of Goya seasoning salt, crushed red pepper and a lot more garlic to increase the flavor. Also instead of cream cheese I added low fat Greek yogurt to cut fat and increase protein. My husband loved this dish so much he ate the whole dish in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. If I make it again, I will definitely add salt and pepper. It was somewhat bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I just did not care for the idea of steamed onions. I sauteed the onions in a small amount of olive oil with 1 clove garlic chopped and kept everything else as is. I liked this as a nice alternative to the traditional green bean casserole we always serve at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My daughter & her friends chose this recipe along with pork chops & surprised her dad & I with a candlelit dinner for two! This was a great casserole that I would have never tried if I hadn't been "gifted" with it. Now its one of our fav's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Not bad, but the broccoli ends up being quite soft. If made it again, I think I'd maybe skip the steaming and/or bake it for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving 2005 and it was very good and different. I made it exactly as the recipe says and I don't think I would change a thing when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this. And it was easy. I used two 12oz steamer bags of broccoli. Cooked them in the microwave. I sliced one large onion and cooked that in the microwave with a couple of teaspoons of butter until tender. Made the sauce as written except added 1 teaspoon of dry mustard and salt and pepper with the flour. The breadcrumbs and cheese made a nice crunchy topping. This all fit into a 7x11 pan. Just because I had some, I sprinkled some sliced and toasted almonds on my serving. I am not a fan of the green bean casserole that is often served at Christmas. I'm bringing this to the next holiday get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I read reviews before making. The only thing I changed was instead of simmering onions in water I sauted in a little olive oil and fresh garlic and added salt and pepper before adding sauce to veggies. This is amazing!!!! I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed this recipe. I will make this again and again. Thank you so much for sharing this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very nice. I think a nice variation could incorporate little garlic as well. Maybe next time I will saute the onions in garlic rather than just boil them. A little cracked black pepper would be a nice addition to the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter, to rave reviews. I fried the onions in the butter. Did not pre-steam broccoli. Added half the cheddar to the sauce, sprinkled the rest on top. Used double the amount of panko bread crumbs. Baked until broccoli was tender, about 1 hour. Added 1/2 t salt, 1/4 pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States