Broccoli and Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Excellent recipe & its not very difficult to prepare. I doubled the amount of broccoli added about 1 tablespoon of Goya seasoning salt, crushed red pepper and a lot more garlic to increase the flavor. Also instead of cream cheese I added low fat Greek yogurt to cut fat and increase protein. My husband loved this dish so much he ate the whole dish in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
This recipe was pretty good. If I make it again, I will definitely add salt and pepper. It was somewhat bland without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Clover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
I just did not care for the idea of steamed onions. I sauteed the onions in a small amount of olive oil with 1 clove garlic chopped and kept everything else as is. I liked this as a nice alternative to the traditional green bean casserole we always serve at the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
My daughter & her friends chose this recipe along with pork chops & surprised her dad & I with a candlelit dinner for two! This was a great casserole that I would have never tried if I hadn't been "gifted" with it. Now its one of our fav's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Not bad, but the broccoli ends up being quite soft. If made it again, I think I'd maybe skip the steaming and/or bake it for less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving 2005 and it was very good and different. I made it exactly as the recipe says and I don't think I would change a thing when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this. And it was easy. I used two 12oz steamer bags of broccoli. Cooked them in the microwave. I sliced one large onion and cooked that in the microwave with a couple of teaspoons of butter until tender. Made the sauce as written except added 1 teaspoon of dry mustard and salt and pepper with the flour. The breadcrumbs and cheese made a nice crunchy topping. This all fit into a 7x11 pan. Just because I had some, I sprinkled some sliced and toasted almonds on my serving. I am not a fan of the green bean casserole that is often served at Christmas. I'm bringing this to the next holiday get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I read reviews before making. The only thing I changed was instead of simmering onions in water I sauted in a little olive oil and fresh garlic and added salt and pepper before adding sauce to veggies. This is amazing!!!! I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed this recipe. I will make this again and again. Thank you so much for sharing this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Very nice. I think a nice variation could incorporate little garlic as well. Maybe next time I will saute the onions in garlic rather than just boil them. A little cracked black pepper would be a nice addition to the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter, to rave reviews. I fried the onions in the butter. Did not pre-steam broccoli. Added half the cheddar to the sauce, sprinkled the rest on top. Used double the amount of panko bread crumbs. Baked until broccoli was tender, about 1 hour. Added 1/2 t salt, 1/4 pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States