Broccoli and Onion Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
My husband and I can eat a whole pan of this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I only let broccoli set in boiling water, no heat for 5 min so still crisp tender
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I followed this exactly except used a broccoli/cauliflower mix, and used chive & onion cream cheese per earlier reviews saying it was too bland. I also didn't steam the veggies at all, the cooking time is more than enough and I know they would've been mushy if I'd steamed them first. I thought there wasn't enough sauce- maybe next time I'll use less veggies? It came out tasting very similar to plain steamed broccoli. Its not necessarily bad, but definitely needs to be spiced up a little. I'll probably try a different recipe before trying to fix this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Oh my goodness! This was so good! Just a word to the wise... don't overcook the broccoli, as it will bake for so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Quite b-l-a-n-d!!!! I'm not sure what type of flavoring this dish needs but I made this for a family gathering and the concensus was a rating of "so-so." This is a great concept dish though and I may keep it around for future tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought this was really good, but my husband came home and ate the rest of it! (That's his way of saying five stars!) Made as directed, but my only opinion is that the broccoli and onion DO NOT need to be boiled, sauteed or anything else. It cooks so long in the oven, the vegetables are perfect when they come out. I think any additional cooking time makes them come out mushy. Oh, I added garlic as well, because I can't make anything without it. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Made this for Easter, to rave reviews. I fried the onions in the butter. Did not pre-steam broccoli. Added half the cheddar to the sauce, sprinkled the rest on top. Used double the amount of panko bread crumbs. Baked until broccoli was tender, about 1 hour. Added 1/2 t salt, 1/4 pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crayn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I read reviews before making. The only thing I changed was instead of simmering onions in water I sauted in a little olive oil and fresh garlic and added salt and pepper before adding sauce to veggies. This is amazing!!!! I can't tell you enough how much we enjoyed this recipe. I will make this again and again. Thank you so much for sharing this. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This tasted like macaroni and cheese, if macaroni some how turned into vegetables. It's not the healthiest dish, but is really good and I could definitely see serving it for a holiday. I did change it and used a bag of frozen squash, a bag of frozen italian vegetable medley and a bag of frozen tri color peppers in place of the broccoli. It was so easy and yummy. I also sautéed the onions before hand instead of subjecting them to boiling. The sauce is a great base but is missing salt and seasoning! I added some Lawry's salt, fresh ground pepper and garlic powder as I cooked the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I loved this. And it was easy. I used two 12oz steamer bags of broccoli. Cooked them in the microwave. I sliced one large onion and cooked that in the microwave with a couple of teaspoons of butter until tender. Made the sauce as written except added 1 teaspoon of dry mustard and salt and pepper with the flour. The breadcrumbs and cheese made a nice crunchy topping. This all fit into a 7x11 pan. Just because I had some, I sprinkled some sliced and toasted almonds on my serving. I am not a fan of the green bean casserole that is often served at Christmas. I'm bringing this to the next holiday get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States