Broccoli and Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I made this recipe according to the directions. It was very bland, and my husband made me promise to never make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this dish, although I will admit that I did make some changes based on what some of the other reviews said. I made a roux using 2TBSP butter and 2TBSP cornstarch, and added that to thicken the sauce up. I also added an onion to the original sauce and used 1.5 cups of the chicken broth. I applied all herbs and seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmysnacks
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
So quick and easy! I used whole wheat pasta to make tad healthier and added 2 diced chicken breasts for a little more protein, but besides that followed the recipe exactly. Even my finicky finace who is alway leery of trying new recipes liked it. His only complaint was that there wasn't enough garlic, so next time I might doulble or even triple the garlic! Thanks for a great simple weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmysnacks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Pretty good, but a bit bland. I added a little extra garlic, but if I make this again it will need more flavor. Fresh grated parmesan helped a lot with the flavor. Gets 5-stars for being super easy to make and all ingredients I have on hand. I will probably make this again with some changes since it was so quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was decent. I threw frozen broccoli in and it worked fine. I did use 1.5 cups of broth, added some poultry rub, and then 2 T. of cornstarch near the end, which gave it the perfect consistency. I also used Pampered Chef All-Natural Seasoning instead of the recommended seasonings. It was a bit salty which was probably my fault. Next time I'll add a little sugar or agave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Ok, so this wasn't loaded with flavor but I enjoyed it, it was QUICK, and the whole family ate it. I'm guessing the recipes made with MSG-laced broth come out more flavorful than our natural varieties. Sun-dried tomatoes would be really good in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was pretty good...I saw that many other reviewers said it was quite blah, so I decided to jazz it up a bit :) I added yellow, red and green peppers as well as some onion. Instead of using garlic cloves I used garlic powder and garlic salt. Even with all of the changes, I was expecting it to be pretty blah, but was pleasantly surprised! Even my husband loved it, and he's the pickiest eater ever! Super Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I needed a make ahead meal and used this recipe but added chicken. I just stir fried some cubed seasoned chicken before following the rest of the directions and tossed them together. I too used whole wheat pasta and more garlic. After sitting all afternoon and then being re-heated it was great as all the flavours blended so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is one of my favorites for simple weekenight cooking. I generally use whole-wheat or spinach pasta because I find that it holds up better to the cooked broccoli, and the texture provides a nice contrast. Also, I usually double the garlic to give it a little more flavor. If you still find it to be a little bland, add some crushed red pepper flakes when you serve! Provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
good start. Needs something, maybe with crunch? Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States