Broccoli and Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I loved this recipe, it was a super easy weeknight dinner. Because we're only two I halved the recipe. I used frozen broccoli, added an onion, and threw in a little lemon pepper for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Light and easy, not too salty. Great for kids. I added some spicy andouille sausage and shrimp, which it gave it a nice kick in flavor. As other reviews said, I used double the chicken broth, not a bad idea to thicken, but I didn't. I also used lots of parmesan. I loved the flavor the chicken broth and garlic gave to the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
A little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is a great go to side dish or entree. Yes, as is it's a little bland but that makes it easy to personalize! I doubled the garlic, used italian seasoning and added a few pinches of red pepper flakes. I boiled my pasta in chicken broth and kept the broth to use with the broccoli. The starch in the pasta broth helps thicken it. I also whisked a few tablespoons of cornstarch in some of the pasta broth. It thickened up very nicely. Make sure and do not overcook the pasta. It should be just barely done. Otherwise it will end up overdone when you add it to the hot broccoli mixture. I love this recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This recipe is amazing! Just what I was looking for. I read the reviews and made it my own by doubling the chicken broth and garlic, added more fresh basil, 6-8 fresh campari tomatoes quartered and then I mixed a few tbsps. of flour and water to thicken, salt and Italian seasoning and last minute addition was 1/4 cup of heavy cream. Yummy! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This recipe is way too bland on its own. It needs more cheese, more pepper, more broth, and even then it could still use some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Very good! I used more chicken broth because I wanted a little more sauce, but it didn't thicken, so I used a little corn starch to make it a little thicker. I also added chicken! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Tasty but I would definitely do without the chicken broth for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hot Cookin' Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
A good quick meal made with things I had on hand. I used more garlic and half a bag of frozen mixed veggies. It made a good healthy lunch for my son and I that we were ale to eat for a few days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I thought it was ok, my husband thought it was really bland. I will take the idea and recreate it at some point...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Cristina E*

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hilmar, California, USA
Living In: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States