Broccoli and Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was simple and delicious! Very low fat, and the kids loved it:-) I added cut up chicken breast, and about a TBL of cornstarch and water just to thicken the broth a tad...made it stick to the noodles a bit:-) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I loved it. I used spaghetti noodles instead. I also didn't use red pepper flakes because the sausage I used was very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is just "ok". Nothing to write home about/serve company, but still a pleasant weeknight meal and eons better than fast food. I made it as is (minus the black pepper, of course) and I doubled the garlic (which i sauteed in a dash of EVOO before adding the rest)...ok, I guess not quite "as is". I also added a few dashes of minced onion (next time I will use "real", I just didn't have any). Start the pasta water boiling before you do anything else (I had my broccoli ready and waiting before my pasta water was boiling) and start your pasta before you begin to chop your broccoli. This does NOT take long at all, as long as it takes for the pasta water to boil and pasta to cook. I used whole wheat penne and topped w/parm cheese (grated, all I had) and a dash of crushed red pepper. I'm not a huge basil fan, but it was such a scant amount it was a nice touch, as was the lemon juice. I don't know that this would be as good w/frozen broc. I'm excited to see how it is for lunch tomorrow. UPDATE: Since I've made this a ton of times since my initial review, I must like it more than I thought! I'm amending my review to a "5", w/the "caveat" to add MORE garlic. With the addition of plenty of garlic & some crushed red pepper (along w/whole wheat pasta), this is a great simply healthy meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I used this as a side dish and it was very good. Followed recipe exactly except for cutting in half for 2 people. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This was great! My family loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
The first time I made this recipe the sauce was thin and bland and there was very little of it. I decided to try it again doubling all ingredients (except the pasta & broccoli) and it was wonderful! I also sauteed the garlic in a little bit of olive oil first, added strips of grilled chicken breast, and topped each plateful with TONS of shredded (not grated) parmesan cheese. The final outcome was delicious! This will definitely be a regular in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Excellent for a super fast nutricious light meal. My little boys 4 and 2 loved it. I would even make it as a side dish without the pasta because the brocoli was so tender and yummy. It's nice to find a quick way to cook veggies that's yummy for kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This is one of my favorites for simple weekenight cooking. I generally use whole-wheat or spinach pasta because I find that it holds up better to the cooked broccoli, and the texture provides a nice contrast. Also, I usually double the garlic to give it a little more flavor. If you still find it to be a little bland, add some crushed red pepper flakes when you serve! Provecho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I needed a make ahead meal and used this recipe but added chicken. I just stir fried some cubed seasoned chicken before following the rest of the directions and tossed them together. I too used whole wheat pasta and more garlic. After sitting all afternoon and then being re-heated it was great as all the flavours blended so nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I enjoyed this dish, although I will admit that I did make some changes based on what some of the other reviews said. I made a roux using 2TBSP butter and 2TBSP cornstarch, and added that to thicken the sauce up. I also added an onion to the original sauce and used 1.5 cups of the chicken broth. I applied all herbs and seasonings to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States