Broccoli and Four Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This is great! Served it during a football game instead of pizza. Made it easier by thawing a loaf of frozen bread dough. Seems the pepperoni was left out of the recipe, but I used it and the flavors together were awesome. Will definitely keep this in my recipe box and experiment with different variations of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2001
This turned out great! I even froze a few for later and my husband loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I substituted spinach for the broccoli because my family loves spinach, and these were incredible. I absolutely LOVE this dough, and use it for homemade pizzas, too. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!!! I added grilled chicken to mine, but thought the whole recipe was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
not enouth filling ingredients for the amount of dough - and you bake them at 500 degrees for 30 minutes???? no way. The dough and filling are good - just needs some adjustment on size and baking temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
i thought this was excellent-i used store bought frozen pizza dough and thawed it according to package directions.I also just spiced up the dough w/basil,oregano and italian seasoning-and omitted the provolone cheese-and baked at 450-not 500 degreesfor about the same time-will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Yum! My first try at making calzones and these came out great. My only modification was using cheddar cheese instead of provolone, and adding some ham that I shredded in the food processor and they still came out great. Everyone loved them and ate their entire calzone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Excellent, though a little labor intensive. Not for a real beginner. I've also used this dough with "traditional" pizza toppings and sauce and it is very good. It doesn't freeze well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very pretty. But too much dough. Or, not enough filling. Will make again, but halve the dough. Making the dough in the breadmaker was new to me, but I liked it a lot. Plus, it was a whole lot easier than mixing by hand, which is what I usually do with pizza. Would definitely recommend putting marinara on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I substituted fresh broccoli (put it in raw so it did not get mushy when cooked), and added dried oregano, crushed red pepper and freshly grated garlic and omitted the provolone. Used refrigerated pizza dough and added homemade pizza sauce inside the calzone. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States