Broccoli and Four Cheese Calzones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
i thought this was excellent-i used store bought frozen pizza dough and thawed it according to package directions.I also just spiced up the dough w/basil,oregano and italian seasoning-and omitted the provolone cheese-and baked at 450-not 500 degreesfor about the same time-will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
These were good but would be better w/ marinara sauce in them. Next time I would not mix the ricotta w/ the other cheeses, rather spread it beside the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
The crust is great on these, but the filling was a little bland. Will make it again but with spinach instead of the broccoli, and more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizajane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Very pretty. But too much dough. Or, not enough filling. Will make again, but halve the dough. Making the dough in the breadmaker was new to me, but I liked it a lot. Plus, it was a whole lot easier than mixing by hand, which is what I usually do with pizza. Would definitely recommend putting marinara on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Wonderful recipe, thanks for sharing!!! I added grilled chicken to mine, but thought the whole recipe was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Yum! My first try at making calzones and these came out great. My only modification was using cheddar cheese instead of provolone, and adding some ham that I shredded in the food processor and they still came out great. Everyone loved them and ate their entire calzone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
yummy! I subbed basil for the oregano (I was out), added a tbsp of spag. sauce to each one, and used a slice of provolone in each instead of grated. Enjoyed by the whole family, and looking forward to the leftovers for lunch! I'm gonna try the dough for pizza crust next time I make it. Also, I used plain flour & hand mixed the dough - let it rise for an hour before rolling out. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I substituted spinach for the broccoli because my family loves spinach, and these were incredible. I absolutely LOVE this dough, and use it for homemade pizzas, too. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
I made the frozen spinach option and my family rated them on a scale of 1-10 (with 2 dog food) a three.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
This is great! Served it during a football game instead of pizza. Made it easier by thawing a loaf of frozen bread dough. Seems the pepperoni was left out of the recipe, but I used it and the flavors together were awesome. Will definitely keep this in my recipe box and experiment with different variations of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States