Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this last night for dinner and I finally came up with a trick to make filling the shells easier. after draining them in a colander, I used a mini muffin pan, and simply scooped each shell onto a hole while they were still hot. This made them open up nicely and let them cool a bit while I was mixing up the filling. I didn't use quite as much broccoli as the recipe called for, but we enjoyed this even though my husband doesn't care for ricotta cheese very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
this was just ok for us. I think next time i will cook up fresh broccoli and use that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was a great idea! I love the idea of merging broccoli and ricotta into a dish like this. I work full time so I am always looking for meals to make on Sunday (and easy to pop in the oven on a Tuesday). I did add an egg to this recipe because I am used to using egg in dishes that involve ricotta. I also used fresh broccoli (cooked it in the microwave for 3 minutes) and put it in the food processor to make it into itty bitty pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very easy recipe to make. I added one egg to cheese mixture to hold together better and I added basil and oregano to add flavor. I actually didn't use all 18 of my shells, it just depends on how full you fill them. I packed mine pretty full and only used 14 of them. I think garlic and onion would be a nice addition to the recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Good foundation; it just needs enhancement for flavor, as others have written. Next time I will make it with a fresh sauté of broccoli, mushrooms, and garlic. Then I will add Italian spices and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg to the stuffing mix. I might try the suggested Gouda as well. This recipe is worth saving and innovating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Quick and easy vegetarian meal that included a veggie... what more could I ask for? I made more than recipe called for and was able to make another whole dish to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made it alittle healthier but Very good! I added just a bit of fresh Asiago shredded into the cheese mixture, I also added some italian spices with alittle salt. Made with light ricotta,2% mozzarella to make it a healthier version. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Loves this! Lovely combination of sauce and cheeses. Can't really taste the broccoli too much, though it adds a nice crunch. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
DH and I did not care for this at all. Used fresh broccoli, which was the only thing that made this worth cooking; the filling would be mushy if using frozen. I added Italian seasoning to the filling, and DH made his special marinara. Neither additions redeemed this dish. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I give this one a solid 5 stars. It's easy and quick to make and it tastes delicious. What more could you want! Instead of buying to types of shredded cheese, I just got a package of "Italian blend." I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States