Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this last night for dinner and I finally came up with a trick to make filling the shells easier. after draining them in a colander, I used a mini muffin pan, and simply scooped each shell onto a hole while they were still hot. This made them open up nicely and let them cool a bit while I was mixing up the filling. I didn't use quite as much broccoli as the recipe called for, but we enjoyed this even though my husband doesn't care for ricotta cheese very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
this was just ok for us. I think next time i will cook up fresh broccoli and use that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
This was a great idea! I love the idea of merging broccoli and ricotta into a dish like this. I work full time so I am always looking for meals to make on Sunday (and easy to pop in the oven on a Tuesday). I did add an egg to this recipe because I am used to using egg in dishes that involve ricotta. I also used fresh broccoli (cooked it in the microwave for 3 minutes) and put it in the food processor to make it into itty bitty pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Very easy recipe to make. I added one egg to cheese mixture to hold together better and I added basil and oregano to add flavor. I actually didn't use all 18 of my shells, it just depends on how full you fill them. I packed mine pretty full and only used 14 of them. I think garlic and onion would be a nice addition to the recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Good foundation; it just needs enhancement for flavor, as others have written. Next time I will make it with a fresh sauté of broccoli, mushrooms, and garlic. Then I will add Italian spices and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg to the stuffing mix. I might try the suggested Gouda as well. This recipe is worth saving and innovating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Quick and easy vegetarian meal that included a veggie... what more could I ask for? I made more than recipe called for and was able to make another whole dish to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Made it alittle healthier but Very good! I added just a bit of fresh Asiago shredded into the cheese mixture, I also added some italian spices with alittle salt. Made with light ricotta,2% mozzarella to make it a healthier version. Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Loves this! Lovely combination of sauce and cheeses. Can't really taste the broccoli too much, though it adds a nice crunch. I would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
DH and I did not care for this at all. Used fresh broccoli, which was the only thing that made this worth cooking; the filling would be mushy if using frozen. I added Italian seasoning to the filling, and DH made his special marinara. Neither additions redeemed this dish. Will not be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I give this one a solid 5 stars. It's easy and quick to make and it tastes delicious. What more could you want! Instead of buying to types of shredded cheese, I just got a package of "Italian blend." I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States