Broccoli and Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This was extremely good. My husband loved it! Like a previous reviewer, I added a can of cream of mushroom soup.. I think it really helped out the texture and flavor. I also sauteed some cut up chicken tenders and added them to the mixture to make this more of a main dish. I boiled some leftover fresh broccoli instead of the frozen kind, and I used regular white rice with a packet of chicken seasoning. I put a lot more shredded cheese on top, so it took a lot longer than 10 minutes for it to melt and brown, but the result was excellent. Next time I might add onions and mushrooms! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
YUM! What a hit! i took a chance and made this recipie for Thanksgiving this year. Broccoli and Cheese Casserole for 25 people! Thats a lot a broccolli, cheese, and rice! Mu husband previously wouldn't touch broccoli - but now this is all he ever wants me to make as a side to our dinners! it is GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
My daughter has been begging me make this. She loved it, Thanks for the recipe! (To all reading-same names-two different members)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
Great! I used white rice instead of yellow, adding 1/2 tsp. salt to the boiling water. I let the broccoli thaw on the counter, then drained it. I used Velveeta brand cheese, cut into small pieces. After the rice cooked, I added the cheese to the top of it, covered, and let it sit for 10 minutes so that the cheese would melt. I then added the broccoli, 1/2 tsp. salt, and 1/4 tsp. pepper, stirred it all together, and poured into a 3-qt. glass dish. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
I tried this recipe because I love broccoli and cheese together and thought it sounded good. It was really good, but was missing just a little of something. My mother tasted it...apparetly she used to make something similar) and said that it needed Creme of Mushroom soup. The next time I tried it I put the cream of mushroom soup in as well..it was AWSOME! Thanks so much for bringing this recipe to my attention - I will definitly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
I used fresh broccoli and brown rice. I also added some shredded cheddar cheese into the mix, and a can of cream of mushroom soup, as other reviewers mentioned. Pretty easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Rather easy but better with real cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a great recipe, however, as previous "chefs" had advised, I also used a can of cream of mushroom soup! The taste was great, although it was a bit too sticky. Definitely should have added More water! Made it for my family Christmas dinner & my son ate TWO Huge helpings!! I'll definitely make this again! Very easy too! ;) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This is FABULOUS!!!! I was a little nervous that it would be crunchy without added water or cream of chicken or mushroom, but it was perfect!! I have made it twice. The first time I made it as a side dish exactly as the recipe stated, but I made it again adding carrots, chicken, and onion and used it as a main dish...also GREAT!!! I highly recommend this dish!! Well done!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethStrate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
this was really yummy! i made it last night with our enchiladas and it was great. i just added a small can of cream of mushroom soup and i used velveeta instead of canned cheese. i recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriansWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States