Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Delicious. I used mushroom soup instead of chicken, and I cooked the water out of 14 oz of mushrooms and added that. I used Velveeta as my "processed cheese food". Next time I will use something that looks nicer for the crunch on the top, the crushed crackers made it look a bit underwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Very tasty and easy. Like most I cut back on butter, milk and cheese. Loved it. Will make again and again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Since I was taking this to my neighbor's for Thanksgiving, I read through all reviews and implemented 'common' changes. I measured meticulously. I sauteed 1/2 onion and 1 clove garlic in 2T butter, steamed the broccoli and cauliflower, heated equal parts of processed and cheddar cheeses in 1 can cream of chicken soup and the milk. I used 3/4 cup white rice and 1/4 cup wild rice, which I cooked in my rice cooker and used chicken stock instead of water. I used lightly buttered Ritz cracker crumbs on the top. I did not care for this recipe at all and neither did anyone else. I brought 3/4 of it home. I re-heated and tried it the day after Thanksgiving and ended up throwing it out. IF I made it again, and I don't plan to, I would use cream of mushroom soup and omit the onion and garlic. I would probably use stove top stuffing croutons with flavor packet and a little melted butter on the top. I don't believe the flavor of the cream of chicken soup, cheese, onion and garlic were a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snctygnd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great recipe. The only thing I did different was put stove top stuffing on top before baking.....WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Great basic recipe. I used 1 cup brown rice, 12-16 oz each frozen broccoli and cauliflower and added 2 TBL minced garic when sauteing the onion. Absolutely fabulous. Sure to make this again, including next week for Thanksgiving. Big Hit at our Bunco Thanksgiving last night. Highy recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Unicoi, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
It turned out well, but I incorporated many of the changes I saw in other reviews. I used 2 T. of butter, and some olive oil; a cup of brown rice, and added three chopped leeks to the onion. I also used grated cheddar instead of cheese product and, to be a little bad, put a few deep-fried onions on top instead of crackers. It is a versatile dish, as other vegetables and/or meat could be added. It is important to not overcook the vegetables and ruin their nutritional value and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Used one cup of rice, less butter, cheddar and colby cheese, fresh veggies and cream of mushroom soup(for my vegetarian), It was delicious and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I doubled the recipe and added sauteed chicken tenders (ripped up)at the last minute, and it was a meal. Very very good! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debgarben

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carteret, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Salem, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Really good. Followed exactly except for adding cayenne, which I do to most dishes because we like things spicy. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Used only broccoli and no cauliflower or onion. Used about 2 c. pre-cooked white rice, less butter, ~1/2 lb of cheddar, 1/2 c. of milk and cheez-it style crackers on top. It was a bit bland, but not bad. 8 month old really liked the texture! That alone means I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 375) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States