Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
First, we absolutely loved it ... but I'll admit to having modified it quite a bit based on what I had in the house and also because some of the ingredients just made no sense to me (sorry). I know that some reviewers will feel that I am no longer rating this recipe because of the modifications so that's why I am stating this up front. But what we ended up with was spectacular and my wife is asking me to make it again tonight for her to take to a pot-luck meal she is attending. Here are my modifications: I doubled the amount of rice (we like Basmati) because it simply appeared that there would be too much moisture otherwise, and then cooked it in chicken broth instead of water (which I always do). I almost died when I read that it called for one pound of processed cheese food (I figured we would be constipated for a month) ... so I dialed that back to half a pound of shredded Canadian cheddar (that's all I had). We had no cream chicken soup so I used mushroom instead. I added 2 tsp crushed garlic when sauteing the onion ... and 1 tsp seasoning salt and 2 tsp vegetable spice to the mix before putting it in the baking dish. I had no crackers for the top so simply used Italian-style breadcrumbs (we use Aurora - which has Italian Romano cheese in with the crumbs).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Trying this my way :) Using up fresh cauliflower, broccoli and carrots today at my house. Steamed them after cleaning and cutting into bit sized pieces. Kept them separate so steaming was accurate. Had about 4 c each broccoli and cauliflower cooked and about 2 c cooked carrots. Divided veg between three casseroles (one bigger than the others). In each I put one third of each type of veggie. Don't use canned soup so I made 5 c medium cream sauce with olive oil, butter, flour and veg broth (homemade), add sauteed onions, garlic thyme, parsley, sage and rosemary. In whatever amount suits your taste. add at least 1 cup of sauce to each casserole and mix(big one will take at least two c). First batch will get buttered crumbs when it gets used/cooked off on Wednesday night dinner with pork chops and tossed salad. The second casserole will get white sauce & sautéed fresh mushrooms and will be topped with crumbled bacon. This will be the main dish on Thursday with lemon-butter asparagus and fresh fruit. And lastly the bigger dish will get at least two c white sauce 1 cup cooked rice, sautéed chicken, cheese and sauteed fresh mushrooms for Sunday dinner per the recipe above. So using the basic premise to make three dishes out of a lot of veggies. Also makes cooking easier in the week. Smells great so far looking forward to the results:)Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momofone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Have made never made it with cauliflower making it today for lunch can't wait yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Move over green bean casserole...this is it! I just added a bit more rice (another half cup). A little bonus...it's even BETTER the next day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allrecipefan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Kings Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Absolutely delicious. I made the mistake of leaving out the milk and will definitely add it next time. For health sake even though we were using processed chesse, I left out a lot of the butter. ;-) My husband says he wants this on a regular basis and I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I made this recipe for thanksgiving this year, my first time making broccoli casserole actually... Everyone loved it so much that I'm now the one that gets to make the broccoli casserole from now on. It was requested for christmas also lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
I used more cauliflower than broccoli because it was what I had on hand. Then I took a lot of the suggestions to create this: Used 1 Tbsp. butter to sauté onion, then added milk, soup, and about 3/4 cup shredded cheddar to make a sauce THEN stirred in the broccoli, cauliflower, and rice. All fit into my 9x13 glass dish. Sprinkled top with freshly ground pepper, crackers, and a little more cheddar. Even my picky eater ate all that was on his plate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Made this recipe with the advice of others, using 1 cup cooked rice, half the amount of butter and processed cheese. I used 16oz of both broccoli and cauliflower. I felt like this was too bland for my tastes. Some bites were good ( the cheesier bites) and other bites were not. I tend to agree on another users comments amount the buttery crackers not being that good on top. It was good to have a crunch, but they were tasteless to me. IF I make this again I would use more cheese, probably the original amount of 16 oz. And possible add melted butter to my crushed crackers before sprinkling them on. I think that would be way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lesliejade1985

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosie
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
It was really really good ;). I just added some chicken to add some more protein to our diet. Just as a side note I didn't drain vegetables as well so I ended up adding one minute oats to thicken up casserole. I'll prolly continue doing this so help reduce cholesterol !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Monique King
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Loved the recipe I used brown rice instead of white and chicken broth for the soup I didn't have any crackers so I used the Panko Bread crumbs have to be careful with that browns real fast. The dish was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States