Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I LOVED this. I used real old cheese and 5 grain rice, though. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
As written, this casserole definitely lacks flavor so I use salt, black pepper, cayenne, parsely and Old Bay. I put Old Bay on almost anything! I make a variation of this recipe almost every week. I include diced chicken breast, sauteed in onions and garlic, and omit the rice. Instead of cream of chicken, I use cream of mushroom soup with a couple tablespoons of milk added and some fresh mushrooms. Also, I experiment with different shredded cheeses each time. I love sharp cheddar, while processed cheese (to me) is an abomination... The cauliflower needs to cook longer than the broccoli, so I'd recommend blanching the cauliflower first and leaving the broccoli raw. Lastly, I use a mixture of regular Panko breading and chipotle Panko. I sautee in a bit of butter and spread a ridiculous amount on top. Throw it in the oven until cheese is melty, breadcrumbs are browned, the veggies are tender and it is heated through (around 20 minutes at 350 degrees). Perfection! Sometimes I serve on top of rice if it's a comfort food type of day/week/month. Otherwise, I eat it alone as a main dish and don't feel as guilty. This is a good starter recipe that you can tweak and make your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Made using homemade cheese sauce since we don't eat processed cheese food, and it was really good. It reminds me of what my grandmother used to make, and it a good use for all this broccoli and cauliflower from the garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Family ate the whole pan. I did modify the dish a bit...instead of boiling the white rice in water, I used 1 can of clear chicken broth; I also double the rice...therefore I cooked 1 cup of rice; added a medium sized garlic clove (minced) to the onion and sauteed all; added about a tsp of ground black pepper. I was sure to use fresh cauliflower (4 cups) and fresh brocolli (4 cups). This was an awesome meal...i can see myself adding about 2 cups of diced chicken for a complete meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Great recipe! I modified it by using quinoa instead of rice, reducing the amount of butter, but using croutons on top and using cream of mushroom soup! A mix of healthy and unhealthy but super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I altered it per other suggestions - less cheese, butter and crackers and real cheddar cheese. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Good base recipe. Just made this but with healthy changes. I used brown rice, 1 tblspn coconut oil in pace of the 1/2 cup butter, 2 onions instead of 1, 9 oz shredded cheese instead of processed product, vegetable broth plus a vegan seasoning cube instead of chicken broth, almond milk in place of cows', 2 tblspns Chia for thickening & fiber. Will use 1 cup brown rice & minced garlic clove next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Way too many crackers on top. Would be better with a little bread crumbs. Too much cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I have just started learning how to cook, and yet this turned out delicious. One of the best things I've ever made, it's way better than my mom's casserole even! I cannot recommend this enough :) I used frozen veggies and added some pepper and grated some mozzarella on top. I wish my boyfriend loved cauliflower and broc as much as I do, he's really missing out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Pretty good! Three of us (myself, hubby, and toddler son) liked it, one (toddler daughter) did not. I omitted the rice, reduced the milk, and increased the cheese until the consistency looked right. I prefer the "roasted garlic cauliflower" recipe on this site, but this is a nice alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States