Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is awesome, simple and easy to make a little more healthy. I didn't tweek it much. Just added 2 cloves garlic, low sodium/fat soups, no salt cracker, cut the butter down to 1/4 cup. I also increased the rice to 1 cup and mixed the soups with the milk before I poured over the ingredients. This fits perfectly in the rectangle pampered chef stone. Someone mentioned that they wouldn't add the crackers next time because the next day they were soggy; however, my family liked the flavour of the cracker in the leftovers - tasted like a buttery stuffing. I also have a kitchen scale so i converted to help you out (cause I didnt know how much was 10 oz of broccoli or cauliflower) 10 oz broccloli florets is about 4cups, 10 oz. cauliflower florets is about 3 cups. This of course depends on how you chop, but at least it can give you an idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
Good, but had to modify. Thought butter amount was ridiculous so used no more than 1 Tbsp. to saute onion (also added 2 cloves of minced garlic). Changed order of recipe by then adding milk, soup, and about 1/2 cup shredded cheddar (not a pound of Velveeta!) to make a sauce THEN stirred in the broccoli, cauliflower, and rice. All fit into an 8x8 glass dish. Sprinkled top with freshly ground pepper, Italian bread crumbs instead of crackers, and a little more cheddar. Would be good with ham on side or even in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
Used about half the processed cheese and half the butter than called for and used 1 cup of rice. Teriffic! Creamy, cheesy and oh so very good! I too might add some minced garlic in the onion saute next time I make this...cause I will be making it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
The first time I made this, I used frozen broc and cauli. The cauli was fine but the broc was nothing but stalks, and some were really tough and woody. Now I make it with fresh veggies, and it is absolutely FANTASTIC! I use extra-sharp Cheddar, cream of mushroom soup, as I always have it on hand, plus I follow others' advice and use 1 cup of rice. Thanks for posting, Bridget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I brought this to a Thanksgiving luncheon and thought that it turned out really well. I gave this recipe 5 stars though I did change the original recipe based on reviews. These are the changes I made: I doubled the amt of rice, broccoli and cauliflower. I left out the onions and celery (my preference), and I used block cheddar cheese chopped up. I added garlic to the butter when I sauteed the broccoli and cauliflower. Well, it looks like I changed the recipe completely - however I give it 5 stars because the base recipe was strong enough to with stand my changes and still be great! Thank you for a yummy recipe - I'll be serving for many holidays to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This recipe was wonderful! It was great the first night, and for left-overs. I made a few changes, though. I used brown rice. I steamed the broccoli and cauliflower. As per previous reviews of runny sauce, I used only 1/4 cup butter and 3/4 pound processed cheese food, and 1/2 cup (4 oz.) milk. I only had cream of chicken soup with herbs. I didn't have crackers, but figured they'd be soggy for left-overs anyway. Again, this recipe is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
Great Recipe! I just gave it a few of my own alterations...I used about a tablespoon of butter and a mere sprinkling of shredded cheddar/monteray jack cheese, to cut down on fat. Also, I used cream of mushroom soup and added some frozen peas. Wonderful! Thanks Bridget
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This is awesome-everyone I made this for loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Came out way too soupy! Next time will increase rice amount next time and decrease milk amount. Used Cream of Chicken Soup with Herbs. otherwise it was tasty and fairly easy to put together, especially if you have leftover rice and don't have to cook that first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
Creamy and tasty. It's a versatile side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 373) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States