Broccoli and Carrot Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
My wife and I loved this dish (we are non-vegetarians). I did tweak this recipe a little bit: I substituted 1 can of cream of broccoli for one of the mushrooms, and I also scrapped the rosemary/paprika and instead opted for some "Italian" spice mix. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I was inspired to make vegetable lasagna after I saw a frozen one in the supermarket. It looked really good but I figured I could recreate it without all the junk the factory puts in. I changed this recipe to be more like the one I saw at the store, plus, I don't really like cream soups. Instead of the soup and all the different types of cheese, I just made a cheese sauce like you'd make for mac n'cheese. Flour, butter, milk, chicken base (or boullion), onion powder, garlic powder, pepper. Steamed the veggies and chopped them really small. Layered noodles, cheese sauce, veggies, noodles, cheese sauce, veggies, noodles, cheese sauce. Then I topped it all with a buttery crumb topping. It has to sit for a while out of the oven for the sauce to firm up. But my family liked this dish. It was familiar enough to mac n'cheese the kids ate it up and substantial enough for the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Scobee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowry City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Mediocre, pretty bland. Not what I was hoping for (but it did make my husband eat broccoli!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was pretty good! The leftovers were even better. I made my own sauce base instead of using the canned soup (boil milk with chicken bouillon cubes and stir in flour) but used the garlic and rosemary. Subbed grated carrot and zucchini for sliced carrots and broccoli. I was a little afraid the carrots and zucchini would make the lasagna soggy after it was cooked, but it turned out fine! I'll probably make this again some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This lasagna was awesome, and such a great break from traditional lasagna. I threw in a whole bag of frozen broccoli and whatever carrots I had. I also put in some extra shredded chicken I had, but it didn't really need it. This will be a regular for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I really liked this. I skipped the cottage cheese and rosemary, and used creams of broccoli and mushroom. I also added peas. My 4 year old picky eater said it was "very very good" which is a huge compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Oh my! Delicious! I did modify a bit after reading other reviews. Used no boil noodles (I'm lazy) make sure to spray dish bottom w Pam. Used one bag frozen broccoli, one bag froz broc,onion,pepper (cooked prior to mixing) instead of carrots. One can cream mushroom w garlic, one half can cream broccoli. Everything else per recipe. Truly excellent! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
We didn't care for this one. I found it had a bland, yet slightly strange taste (maybe from the vegtables?) and the texture was very gluey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great variation on lasagna. I do this recipe with cauliflower rather than broccoli for a different taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Schwenksville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
The only thing I did differently was to add paprika directly to the sauce mix as well as on top. My daughter liked this which is just as well as I made the amount in the recipe and froze the rest for her. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Cheesy Vegetable Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy, saucy vegetarian lasagna that’s loaded with veggies.

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Pair this rich, easy lasagna with a crunchy kale salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States