Broccoli With Lemon Almond Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This is a good side dish. The amount of butter recommended is a little scary; I made two bunches of broccoli and only used about 1 tbsp butter + 1 tbsp olive oil, and there was plenty of buttery taste and not as much fat. Toasted almond slivers would have tasted much more robust than leaving them blanched - untoasted, they became lost. I added probably double the amount of lemon and really enjoyed the lemon/butter combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Tasted good. Skipped the lemon zest and toasted the almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleyD

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Decent, like the almonds but I wont make it again. THe butter adds to many calories w/ out making the flavor that much better and the lemon taste is to strong in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Ok, but too much lemon. I recommend leaving out the zest and cutting lemon juice in half. I used a bag of frozen broccoli florets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Lemon flavour way too strong! Perhaps try it with half the lemon zest?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
While incredibly easy i found there was waaay too much lemon, and just made the whole thing taste yuck, I have leaving a bad review and because soo many others liked it I will try again with less Lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Quite good. The almonds (toasted) stole the show. It was a great pairing with baked chicken-in-sour-cream recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great and simple. I'd tone down the lemon juice, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brytness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Lightly seasoned with lemon, the absence of garlic was a refreshing change, and I resisted the urge to add it. I measured nothing, just added butter, lemon juice and toasted sliced almonds to accomodate my taste - and skipped the lemon zest altogether. I think it would have been lemon overkill otherwise. To preserve their crunch I added the toasted almonds just before serving, which also proved to be a pretty garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I brought this to an office potluck and although it was a little too lemony for my personal taste, others really liked it. I used salad topper almonds that were already roasted and I think it added a nice flavor. I think the next time I make it I will add the lemon seperately and make it more to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Florets are roasted with garlic in olive oil and dressed with fresh lemon juice.

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States