Broccoli Turkey Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Where does it say to add soup??? It was too dry. Soup would probably gotten it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This is a good base recipe, but I tweaked it quite a bit due to the reviews that said it was too dry and sorta tasteless. So here's what I did: I added salt, pepper, garlic and cream of chicken soup with about 1/3 cup milk (you might want more if you're making a 9x13 casserole) and instead of crackers I used left over stuffing. I layered the ingredients like this: soup, milk and shredded turkey (these three, I mixed together) salt, pepper, garlic. Then I layered the thawed broccoli and the cooked rice. On top of that I added the stuffing and then put shredded cheese on top of it all. I omitted the butter as the stuffing was already made with it. I covered it for the first 20 minutes (to cook the broccoli), then uncovered it and baked for an additional 10 minutes so the cheese would melt and the top would brown just a bit. This was a huge hit and will go in my recipe box for the next time I have leftover turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
We liked it. I read the other reviews and added to the mixture 1/2 cup of chicken stock, and 1/2 cup of half & half. (No cream of mushroom or chicken available.) It was still a little dry, but very tasty. I also used basmati rice, and half cheddar and half jalapeno jack cheese, and cauliflower in addition to the broccoli. Very easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dlgarcia5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I added some other ingredients to this recipe and it was great!! Add the following ingredients to give it more flavor: in a skillet heat 2tablespoons of olive oil, sautée 1medium onion, 1/2 cup celery stalk (about 2 stalks) until tender crisp. Add 2 minced garlic cloves to the skillet and cook for about 2 minutes. Add to this mixture 1 can cream of mushroom soup (add half a can of water to the skillet). Add about 1- 2 cups low sodium chicken broth. Simmer over medium heat. Take skillet off heat. Add fresh black pepper to taste. Add the rice ( rice has to be previously cooked , aldente), turkey and cheese. Add broccoli. I used fresh broccoli and steamed it until crisp tender in the microwave. Pour in casserole dish and sprinkle more cheese over it. Cracker / bread crumbs is not necessary, but I did use plain bread crumbs with the melted butter. My family enjoyed this dish! Try it this way and you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Tasty, fast, easy recipe. My husband liked it, but we both thought A. too dry from the massive amount of cracker crumbs and B. would have been better with less rice. My recommendation: Decrease rice by 1/4 c. ( dry), decrease cracker crumbs by 1/2 ( 3.5 oz), add chicken broth or canned cream soup for moisture to cooked rice, turkey, broccoli mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
it needs something to hold it together. sour cream or soup or something. It is way too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I had to spice this up a little but my family loved it! After reading all the reviews here is what I did: Being that it is no longer thanksgiving and the reason I stumbled upon this recipe is because I was looking for a recipe for boneless skinless turkey breast I cubed about a pound of turkey breast and seasoned it with salt, white pepper (because I'm out of black at the moment) sage and rosemary. I cooked it in waterless cookware on top the stove, when almost done I added a small onion, about a tsp of minced garlic, fresh broccoli and about a tbsp of butter then let it simmer until onion and broccoli softened just a little. I cooked my rice according to directions but added a little salt, a little rosemary and a little butter. Then, I mixed turkey and broccoli mixture with rice and probably a little more than a cup of shredded Colby jack in 9x13 baking dish. After that, I added one can cream of chicken soup to a small mixing bowl along with half the can filled with chicken broth and the other half filled with heavy cream. I whisked the ingredients together and poured over turkey, rice and broccoli mixture. I melted the butter and mixed with crumbled crackers as directions stated, only I didn't have wheat crackers so I used the oyster crackers I had left and some butter crackers I had in the cabinet. I baked it on 350 for closer to 30 min. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was nice! The goal was to get all of the leftover Thanksgiving fixin's out of the way. I had already made a beautiful turkey/rice soup... This was the leftover, leftovers of Thanksgiving-- the very end--you know what I'm talking about the weird wing meat. I added a can of Cream of Chicken condensed soup because the other peeps on this site said that it was dry, used raw broccoli that didn't get cooked, sautéed an onion, and used LEFTOVER stuffing as the topper It was delicious... made of stuff that would have been thrown out... Now if only I could figure out what to do with that dang cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I used plain bread crumb instead of crackers. I agree with some others that it needs a cream of some kind of soup. I still enjoyed the flavors although it was dry. I will make this again with a few small variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marsan7673

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
It's casserole, not gourmet food and for casserole it's pretty yummy. I used minute rice instead which cut down on time, added 2 cans cream of muchroom soup mixed with a little milk and a dash of worcestershire sauce, and a handful of diced onions. I didnt put the broccoli in the casserole because my kids love broccoli and I wasnt sure if they would eat it all together. I also used corn flakes instead of crackers because that was what was in my cupboard. I dont usually change recipes this much but I used what I had and it turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Turkey Tetrazzini

Learn how to make delicious, creamy tetrazzini with leftover turkey meat.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States