Broccoli Tofu Pitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I'm vegan so I made the thousand island dressing from scratch using vegan mayo, ketchup, relish, sugar, vinegar, and salt. All in all a yummy twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I cooked this for dinnertonight. I also added some minced garlic green onion and cilantro. I lined the pita bread with fresh spinach and topped it all with ceaser salad dressing. Very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanne
Home Town: Hurst, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was surprisingly tasty. My husband who is very picky when it comes to tofu also liked this. I made sure the tofu was crumbled up rather then cubed. I wanted to keep it simple so just added a few spices to the broccoli while it was cooking like garlic and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This was a good basic recipe. I, like several others, made some changes. I reduced the amount of veg. oil and added sesame oil for flavor. And I used a sesame ginger marinade instead of Thousand Island. You have to make sure you really press the tofu to get the extra fluid out. I will definitely use the recipe again, and I will change it depending on what I have available. Good building block. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I loved these. I used sesame-ginger salad dressing since that's what I had in my fridge, and they turned out really well. Even my wife, a tofu-hater, said these were "pretty good." I think next time I'll add some brown rice for bulk and to stretch the tofu a bit. I also froze and thawed the tofu as someone else suggested, which made very nice crumbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
This sandwich would probably be ALOT better if you chilled the broccoli and tofu first...but i put it right into the pita, and it ripped a hole in the bottom and the dressing got really watery and didnt have much flavor. I was pretty disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberlee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I needed a quick vegetarian meal for my daughter. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews for this. It was really quite bland as it was. I will definatly try this again with some of the suggested changes such as garlic and onion...maybe a little green or red pepper. I bet it would be great with flavoured tofu as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
Great for the (small) amount of preparation required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Great mix, but quite dry. I had to add lots of extra dressing to moisten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2003
This recipe was about average. I just made it once and it's not one I would just 'have' to make again. I substituted a creamy italian dressing for the thousand island and left out the pita (low carb diet). It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Broccoli Garlic Angel Hair Pasta

See how to make a garlicky broccoli sauce for angel hair pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States